We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice secluded location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very nice secluded location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Nice secluded location but yet so close to St Albans and Harry Potter Studio Tour

Only stayed one night, staff were friendly and room fairly clean would certainly stay again.

Breakfast was cook to order for hot food but still as good as always at other premier inns we have stayed at

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    208
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
266
175
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Spent the night of July 20th at this attractive premier inn. Although it is close to the M25 traffic noise was minimal and we slept with the window open as it was a hot night. Room clean, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels , comfy bed and pillows all add to the Premier experience -you know what to expect.
Breakfast very good and the Mill Inn is an interesting location to enjoy your continental or full English .
In fact this is the 3rd premier Inn I have stayed at in 3 months.

Only one thing that was of concern was that several of the fire doors were left open including the one at the top of the stairs which was open with a wedge under it Was going to mention it to the lady on the desk but she was helping another guest when we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after booking the Harry Potter Studio Tour. Staff were polite and friendly, from the Premier Inn to the Beefeater Restaurant on the site. The surroundings were lovely and our little boy was delighted with the small playground. Room was exceptionally clean and just what we needed for a weekend away. Couldn't fault at all. Well done to all staff!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rumbarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Really clean rooms friendly helpful restaurant and reception staff good meals in the restaurant and a nice bar area to sit and relax. I would definitely use a premier inn again. Close to the Harry Potter studio tour and St albans town centre

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for one night. The hotel staff were really nice. The restaurant staff were ok but noted a lack of friendliness in the area generally. Put it down to the North south divide. People in the North are friendlier

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjoriebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Always difficult to review z Premier Inn as they are much and such. This one is as expected service wise in a very nice rural setting and superbly convenient for motorway. What more are you looking for?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have recently spent one night at this Premier Inn.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Hotel... Once we found it. !
We were visiting my daughter who lives in Finchley and we chose this Hotel because it was close to the Motorway. What we didn't realise was that there was no exit from the Motorway so we had a VERY long drive with a left hand drive car down very winding Country lanes before we located it.
We somehow missed the sign for the Premier Inn and sailed right past it. This is when we got very lost. Not great when you are in an area you have never visited before.
Anyway the sign does stand out when you approach from another direction but not from the direction we were travelling in.
It is a very scenic spot and I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel for a Peaceful break in the Countryside. There is a huge Watermill on site and a huge duck pond, with tables and chairs outside and a childrens play area nearby. We stay in Premier Inns quite regularly and this is one of the nicest ones so far.
I must mention Breakfast at this hotel. We hadn't pre-booked so went along in the morning to see if they had space for us. The upstairs restaurant was full but a charming young gentleman came to our aid and layed up a space on the upper tier of the restaurant right next to the giant Water Wheel workings ! It was a real treat. When we asked for the 'Full works' for breakfast he joked that we looked hungry ! Yes we were, having driven through five countries to get to this particular hotel. and enduring a very rough ferry crossing from Belgium we were indeed ready for a Big Breakfast. This hotel is well worth a visit if you like water mills. It is a lovely setting for a restaurant. I was just disappointed I didn't have any money with me to put in the charity box next to the Giant water wheel but made a donation instead at our next stop in Lancashire. Wish I could say breakfast was as good at the Chorley Premier Inn.... It wasn't !

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park and was very quiet. No interruptions with cars leaving early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TizzyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing