We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay for Birthday party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for our aunts birthday,the rooms were good,but road noise from motorway,the food was ok and staff helpful,the best part if one is an OAP is the link to London by Greenline bus is great. Make your way to the Black Boy pub park your car and walk through hedge,one hour later Victoria bus station.Then all of London is yours as the bus service is great.The grounds need to be cleaned better and garden tables could do with being taken of.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room that is quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was your basic no frills Premier Inn experience, but as long as you need nothing more than a bed, a bathroom, a television and a hairdryer then this shouldn't bother you. Price was around £50 for two to stay one night which was quite reasonable, and the friendly and helpful staff at reception and the hotels unique location made our stay a bit different to our usual experience at chain budget hotels. Good nights sleep and no issues with noise from inside or outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although this is a chain hotel and has all the usual features the location makes it a bit different and the staff have always been particularly friendly and helpful. The cost can be very reasonable (especially if you book when there is a special on) and the rooms are large, clean and perfectly comfortable for a night or two. The location is down a country road and it is set around an old mill with new accommodation buildings in a similar style. There is a restaurant across the road where breakfast etc is available and again the staff there were very good on the day we tried it. There is a fair bit of background noise from the nearby motorway but the windows are double glazed and it is not a problem. Car parking is a little limited in front of the hotel but there is a large car park to the side but the gravel makes moving large cases a bit of a chore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely location with lots of open space around the mill stream. Good car parking. Excellent Beefeater restaurant next door in the old water mill building. Nice friendly staff.

But the room was cold, damp and did not smell nice. I doubt anyone had properly checked this room before allocating it to me. To be fair when I complained I received a full refund.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWheelerMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are stunning with lots to occupy little ones. We had a nice welcome at reception and extra pillows had been delivered to our room as requested.
The room was very basic and although it was clean it felt more like a hostel with poor and tired looking decor.
The Beefeater restaurant was in the old mill which very pretty. The staff were not attentive and the food was not very nice. At breakfast staff were brusque, food was slow and they had items missing from the buffet that had been advertised. The toaster burnt the toast on one side and left it raw on the other. When our hot food finally arrived it was the wrong order, although this was quickly rectified by the only friendly waitress we came across. The poached eggs had been cooked in vinegar and tasted almost pickled. By this time we should already have set off on our journey home so I cannot really judge them on this as I just wanted to leave and didn't give them a chance to fix it.
Perhaps worth staying for the lovely play park and mill etc. but overall was disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggsbenadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn St Albans/Bricket Wood. Lovely setting, friendly staff, clean room and a good night's sleep. If you are attending night time events in St Albans it will require a little driving (and taxis are relatively expensive).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed overnight ahead of a visit to the Harry Potter tour at Leavesden. Room absolutely fine, if smelling a bit musty on arrival. Bed wasn't as comfortable as i'd like but that's down to personal taste I guess.

Service at the Premier Inn, and at the adjacent Beefeater, was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBristol_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,323 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £45 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing