We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Knaresborough, N.Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night on route to Heathrow airport. The hotel is located close to the M25 yet is set in nice surroundings with a stream and a small lake adding character. The bedroom was a standard Premier Inn offering with a comfortable bed, although the room was looking a little tired. We decided to eat at the ajoining Beefeater which turned out to be a good choice because the food was very good. We enjoyed a great nights sleep, really quiet with no corridor noise. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly and efficient. All in all a good place for a stopover and we will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilMunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    221
    81
    33
    25
See reviews for
295
184
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked this premier inn because it was on our way and it was £29. However it turned out be a very special start to our anniversary break. The setting is very beautiful, an old working watermill, which is a huge feature in the middle of the Beefeater Pub, surrounded by water. Outside is decking and pretty lighting and even ducks. Food excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaanonymous64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Have been coming to this Premier Inn for 14 years-changes in linked restaurant chain, yet the setting and quality of property remains good.
Not too far from Elstree & links to central London (via Stanmore for example).
Radlett has good places to eat also.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This Premier Inn just gets better! Rooms large and comfy, staff friendly and helpful, food amazing! Ambiance to die for. Mill and restaurant attached with a duck pond. I will use it whenever I am here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of December. Typical modern Premier Inn, clean, spacious, comfortable room with clean bathroom. Although my room was near to the motorway the double glazing was effective and to my surprise the sound insulation between mine and the next room was also effective with only muffled voices heard. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the adjacent Beefeater was average/good, but staff were very efficient and the building has preserved many of the original mill drive mechanism. The mill pond has ducks which was very popular with young children. The hotel is on the route of a local circular walk - follow markers for "Ver Valley Walk 8 - 3.7 miles about 2 hours" as this is a river and woodland walk you will need boots. So in summary, although this hotel is next to the motorway, this is balanced by the adjacent mill having lots of character and there being a short woodland walk from the doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a lovely setting for a Premier Inn. Next to an old mill now used as the restaurant and a lovely stream (with ducks) that runs beside the hotel and through the mill. Although between the M25 and M1 there was little noise when in the room for the night or eating at the next door Beefeater. Clean and comfortable rooms and friendly service. Friendly staff. Only negative was in room heating that was too hot and couldn't be adjusted effecting our sleep. Otherwise room was very high quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Starting with the only negative, for which I recieved a refund for our stay: the truckle bed.
Really blinking uncomfortable. We are a family of four - my 6 year old who was on the truckle bed woke us up at 2am complaining so I swapped with him - and didn't get much sleep after that. I have complained about these before and have previously suggested at least a foam topper to make these even vaguely comfortable but whilst it may have happened in the venues I complained about, it hasn't happened here. So as I did certainly not get a good nights sleep, I complained (and felt bad about it, as the rest of the stay was excellent) and was offered a refund.

I can't fault it really. Bargain price. No motorway noise in spite of the ridiculously close proximity of the M25. We were in room 3, and when the kids opened the curtains in the morning there was a horse opposite having his breakfast - they were so chuffed! The rooms are standard premier inn. Comfortable. Hot water. Clean. Tea and coffee. Enough luggage space.

I tend to try and find Premier Inns which are more child friendly - if no soft play, then a playground at least. The playground here is great. Nice size for my 4 and 6 year olds which a large climbing frame and a couple of small ones. The loved the ducks too. Very picturesque. (as an asides - if you really need to run the children - there is a Gambado 10 minutes up the motorway - its hellish for adults and stupidly expensive - £30 for a family of 4 including registration fee - but the kids loved it and exhausted themselves)

The staff were lovely without exception and the service good. The beefeater was located in an old mill which is novel and the kids like that too. The food was standard pub fare - kids menu is decent value - and service was quite quick (although it was a Sunday night and not busy at all) The breakfast was fabulous as always at premier inn. Hot food cooked to order. No eyelid batted when my eldest saw what my youngest had and decided he wanted that too. Lots of choice.
You also get half an hour of free wifi (and I used 3G after that - no problem with reception)
Overall I totally recommend it and would pick this location again if staying in that area (15 minutes from the Warner Bros Studios as we were doing the Harry Potter tour)

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was not on the motorway side and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing