We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely location and convenient for Harry Potter studio tour (our reason for staying there). Excellent room and very good levels of friendliness and service from all staff. Breakfast and dinner at the on-site Beefeater were very good. We stayed on the £29 per night offer but it would be worth paying more if the offer wasn't available.

Room Tip: There aren't any children's activities or a pool there - I clicked on these last two in erro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked the room for 2 adults and two teenagers. With breakfast this came to about £45. At this price the value is impossible to beat. I looked at other hotels in the area and most wanted around the £200 for four as the kids are now 13&15 and would require two rooms. Even at this price, the room was comfortable and had everything we needed including free 30 mins wifi. Hotel is close to the M1 but it's no worse than a quiet hum, and can't be heard from the rooms at all due to effective double glazing. The adjacent beefeater was a great surprise, a lovely old water mill conversion, complete with working parts. Breakfast was on a par with more expensive hotels. Ok, no smoked salmon but remember, £45 for four of us! Finally, staff were very pleasant and helpful. Already talking about going back closer to Xmas and exploring more of St Albans, and maybe another visit to the excellent Warner Brother (Harry Potter) studio tour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This is a convenient, clean premier inn with good staff but no real wow factor. Rooms feel cold and I struggled to get the small heaters to work well even at 8 deg outside. Restaurant adjoined is very good and homely. Parking good and close by. Does what's expected I guess but you would not want to be here too many days. I do think premier inn cut costs too much with rubbish toilet rolls, soap dispensers that don't work well and rooms that are sparse and hard feeling. The beds here certainly are also not that comfy and a little hard.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, couldnt do enough for you. Nice clean room. Lovely meal. Cooked to perfection. Loved the rickety floorboards in the restaurant.

We didnt get chance to walk around all the grounds due to the floods / high water levels but we will do that on the next visit.

Even though the hotel was so close to the motorway, we didnt hear it at all.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank emmiegiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here 15-2-2014 for 2 nights. We stayed so we could visit Harry Potter studio tour, which was only 15 mins away! Perfect! What a pleasant surprise to find that this is has the feel and look of a 'rural ' hotel. Very pleasant . It added to our stay. We stayed in a family room 2 adults and 2 children . We thought that it was excellent value given it location and a lovely generous breakfast! Ideal for our circumstances! Would recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Muddy and potholed car park with limited spaces by reception. No covered access to the adjacent Beefeater, meaning you got wet if it was raining, and a cold room, (reception gave me an electric heater)

The first room stank of cigarette smoke, so I asked to change it.

The room was ok, but I do wish they'd stop putting large pictures of Lenny Henry, mugging to the camera all over the place.

Receptionists were pleasant enough.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A one night stay after a family party. The welcome when we arrived on a cold wet night was warm and sincere. The room was standard Premier Inn - very clean, very neat and tidy. Only comment is that the kettle was unbelievably slow. The car park by reception is not tarmac and so was full of potholes and puddles. There is plenty more parking further on. A stroll before bed seemed to indicate pretty surroundings, confirmed when we went to breakfast in the morning. This offered a good range of items and, at £5.25 for the continental option was good value. The enormous waterwheel on the ground floor of the Beefeater is well worth a look. Receptionists when we left were again cheerful and keen to know if we had had a good night. We may have approached it from the wrong direction: finding it is easy coming one way but from the other is a bit like driving to the end of the earth and going on a bit further. Motorway noise was not a problem, even with the window open - but this was Sunday night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellgee1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing