We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, but tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have now been at this Premier Inn over 12 times, and yes, for what it is , its a little too expensive, there are never "deals" for this Premier Inn. The reason why I return is the surroundings are nice, and the staff are great. The rooms are very clean, but the bathrooms may require to be refreshed, my last stay the bathroom seemed to have a sponge floor that sunk each step you took. The sleep was very quiet, a bit out of the way, but good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottieman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent facility, ideal for a family both close to London and St Albans which was ideal for us. The restaurant was excellent and being an old water mill had a lovely atmosphere especially having the old water wheel inside the building still in with working order. Overall a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Room was ok, had all the essentials, just a little tired. Car park was having an overhaul but still plenty behind the hotel. The location was perfect for us, 4 miles to Harry Potter, in a quite leafy nook of St Albans. The Beefeater was pretty good with enough choice for adults and two ten year olds. Free breakfast was also more than adequate. This hotel ticked every box needed for a value stay before Harry Potter. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a lovely setting,an old mill.a river walk,very peaceful,you would never know it was next to the m25

Rooms were the usual high standard,had an evening meal which was delicious.
The breakfast was cooked to orde,the staff were very helpful and polite
Will definately be returning soon


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshpixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed one night at Bricket Wood, en route to the Harry Potter studios. It was very well located for this. Whilst you need to travel on a fairly circuitous route to get to the hotel, it is actually situated almost next to the motorway, so traffic noise can be heard. That said, the staff are really friendly and for £51 for a night, it is very good value

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we stayed in room 56 (annexe) which is the closest room to the motorway. Whilst waiting for the hour when checking in is permitted, we tried the restaurant our local family said it would be slow service and it was. One onion soup with a grilled rock bun on top. This could not be sliced into and eventually the soft side soaked up all but two spoons full of soup. We complained. The other dish was a mixed grill (a fry up). All OK until the little square of steak? a slice down the side revealed the steak was raw. Again we complained. No payment was accepted. We would have preferred a decent meal rather than bad cooking equals no cost. The service was slow, slow to be seated, slow service. Our wait was eclipsed by the family seated near us who waited for 40 minutes before seeing their food. 90 minutes after our arrival we checked in and were given our room key. You could hear the motorway noise even after the window was closed. The room was very very cold and the heating controls did not appear to work. A lousy nights sleep followed by more of the same. We did not risk the restaurant again except for breakfast. Empty restaurant...so please wait for ten minutes to be seated. The breakfasts were OK, except for the grilled tomatoes were not grilled.
When we checked out we were offered our money back for the lack of sleep but declined. Personally I would prefer to have a decent nights sleep but since this is a budget hotel they obviously prefer not to triple glaze the windows (see all the previous comments on this by other guests) and not employ enough staff to look after the customers properly. I have stayed in a number of Premier Inns over the years and I can say this one is the worst one, so far. Trip advisor compels me to give a rating of 8/30 instead of the 3/30 it deserves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YeOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here when we visited the Harry Potter experience. Great value as we were able to book £29 per night deal which was very helpful with 9 of us and four rooms. Staff were brilliant without exception. Friendly and very helpful. Accommodation was standard Premier Inn which was absolutely fine. Breakfast in adjacent pub/restaurant was excellent. Recommend The Gate pub at the end of the road as well. The chef there was brilliant and we had a really delicious but inexpensive meal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £48 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing