We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Secluded, although close to M25”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is something of a gem in terms of Premier Inns. The location is secluded and the hotel is down a quiet lane, which is pleasant and picturesque, with a stream, complete with friendly ducks and geese. The main restaurant is located in an original 17th century working watermill, which is really quirky, even down to uneven floors.

The area is worth a visit, being not far from the original Handley Page aerodrome, where Halifax Bombers were built and tested, although all that now remains is a plaque to where the original gate of the airfield once was located.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel of typical Premier Inn budget standard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were helping to organise our son's wedding and had considerable logistical issues to work out. Rachel on reception was extremely helpful in allowing us to store things on a temporary basis and she even found out for us where the nearest household waste site was!
Earlier we had had a few minor issues with the room and these were all dealt with speedily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location, top marks to Rachel at reception staff very helpful & friendly.
Bar and Restaurant in a lovely converted water Mill. Nice wee play park for the kids and you can also feed the ducks and fish at the pond/stream.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyN2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Premier Inn is in a beautiful area with a fantastic Beefeater pub and restaurant next door which is in a stunning water mill. My daughter loved feeding the ducks and geese. Good room, great food!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlgcouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Extremely busy, large complex with plenty of parking with on site resteraunt. Rooms very large,and very clean.staff very helpful. Beautiful location, with river running through the area,lots of seating for nice times by the river feeding the ducks.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.book a table for breakfast/dinner on arrival, as it gets booked up fast,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We wanted somewhere to meet friends with a view to visiting St Albans and this proved to be an inspired choice. Not only was it within easy reach of St Albans, the site was picturesque and quiet with an excellent Beefeater restaurant (which incorporates and old water Mill) and only a short distance from the M1. It was indeed perfect for our needs and we enjoyed very good food,breakfast and dinner, impeccable service as well as a peaceful nights sleep.
The stream running through the site was home to delightful ducks who paraded their dozen or so new offspring proudly for all to see and admire.
So 10 out of 10 for Premier

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Harry Potter Tour. Staff were excellent, friendly and professional. Room was comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed and it is an ideal setting right next to the Beefeater.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBHWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
555 reviews
3.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing