We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful restored water mill and hotel. Great park for kids and wildfowl that love to be fed!.. for 20p that is well worth the enjoyment though.

Hotel was warm and inviting and staff were very helpful. The vending machine was a big hit with the kids an kept them busy,

Hotel Room Clean and Tidy well and obviously well run.

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerzBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    208
    73
    28
    20
See reviews for
265
175
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were in the main building of this rather unusual Premier Inn which didn't have the normal purple livery. It isn't easy to find but driving down the drive past ducks and geese on a stream was a nice plus. The room was clean as always, the staff went the extra mile and more but the restaurant was a real disappointment. The choice of food was small and the staff rather too casual for my liking - being called 'Boss' in any establishment is just a bit too laid back and when the bill comes to £40 plus for two average course, definitely not my favourite mode of address. In all, we would probably stay there again because we rather liked the hotel's setting and quirky charm, but we will definitely eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have mobility issues make sure you say in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortbreaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great spot for families as there's a lovely working water mill pub with ducks and a play park to entertain the little ones. Our room was very clean, the staff were really friendly and took time to chat to our rather excited kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice Premier Inn. Beautiful location. I went for an early morning run the next day, across the road and down the river side way, absolutely beautiful. The grounds are pretty, with the river running alongside. There is a children's pay area and the Beefeater next door should you wish to dine there - we didn't,-choosing instead to go into St Albans, but if you were travelling with small children and did not want to go far, or wanted to be able to have a few drinks and not drive, it would be perfect.

The staff on reception were really nice, friendly and helpful. The room could probably do with a bit of a refurbish but was perfectly clean and exactly what I expect from a Premier Inn. For me, Presmier Inns win over Travelodges because the rooms already have hairdryers without having to ask to borrow them, the beds are more comfortablem and the bathrooms are a bit nicer. We ran out of tea bags and they were perfectly happy to give me more.

The only downside is the proximity to the M25. You cannot really see if from the hotel, however you can hear it. This is not a problem unless you want to sleep with the window open. We had to shut the window and fortunately it was a cooler night - however in the height of summer I could see this being a problem for some.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This Premier Inn looked pretty grotty and unkempt from the outside on arrival.

I was initially in a room in the separate annex bit and the room was looking a quite tired and smelled strongly of damp. Even the wall heaters in the corridors had dark smudges above them where heated air has blackened the paint. It was clean though. The 2 non annex rooms I eventually moved to were pretty good in fairness, apart from the constant traffic noise.

Pleasant chap on reception (on loan from Watford). Not a bad check-in but no mention of Good a Night Guarantee or table for dinner.

This hotel is about 100 meters from the M25 and, as a direct result, it was incredibly noisy both outside and in my room. No wonder they omitted to mention the guarantee.

If you're a heavy sleeper (and I'm not) and you keep the windows locked then you might manage to doze off eventually. I couldn't. I had the most dreadful night. (no, I didn't claim a freebie night as I wasn't after a refund, I just wanted a good night's sleep).

I had three different rooms in the end whilst trying to escape the noise; the poor chap on reception was very professional and apologetic. Handled my complaining very well and, after all, it wasn't his fault. 10/10 for customer care here.

Minute TV - it's 2014, isn't a half decent flat screen on the wall in order these days. Also, the WiFi wasn't working (I tried to connect on 3 different devices in 2 different rooms). Great hanging baskets outside.

Bed lumpy, uncomfortable.

Summary: An externally tired looking hotel with poor quality accommodation in annex very close to the M25 so also extremely noisy. Damp / smelly bedroom in annex. Book into main building if you're staying here and don't forget your earplugs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brushsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here to go to the Harry Potter Studios. It was only a 10 minute drive away so was perfect. It's set down a country lane and is very secluded - it's very pretty and there is a stream with ducks. In fact we drove straight past it at first as we couldn't imagine a Premier Inn would be there! The Beefeater restaurant had a watermill which is still working, it's lovely - although they were really busy when we stayed (a Friday night) so couldn't fit us in until late. We decided to drive into Radlett which was only five minutes or so away - there were a few pubs there, an Indian restaurant, a Pizza Express and a Prezzo where we ate in the end. The train station is in Radlett too where we parked the next day in the large car park and got a direct train into London (about 25-30mins) for the day before driving home.

We had the all you can eat breakfast in the morning which was great, lots of choice and you ordered your cooked items fresh which is better than it sitting under buffet lights for ages. We couldn't decide what to have so sampled most of it (oops) and everything was fine!

The staff were very friendly both at breakfast and on the hotel reception - Rachel on reception especially was very helpful and told us all about the area and different options for things to do. The room was fine, just a typical Premier Inn room - we could hear people in the room above walking about, but it didn't keep us awake.

Would stay here again when we come down for a return trip to the Potter studios - too good to only do once!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This Premier could do with a bit of a freshen up but was fine. The staff were all lovely, but as is often the case the hotel was let down by the food in the restaurant. Premier needs to up its game where dining is concerned especially when the hotel is located out of town as this one is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
Address: Smug Oak Lane | Watling Street, Bricket Wood, St Albans AL2 3PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rural spot just a few miles outside St Albans, handy for The Making of Harry Potter Tour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing