We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for breakfasts & brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of baked nation

baked nation
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for breakfasts & brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Homemade bread and pastries. Eggs benedict were amazing. The service was quick and pleasant. The prices were very affordable. My favourite spot for the Saturday brunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank PedroGVSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not long open and apparently the only bakery in town. Bread fantastic, food and drinks on the mark, chilled atmosphere and friendly, attentive service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bread of Heaven, Feed me til I want no more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had some time to kill while visiting St. Albans recently so I popped into Baked Nation for a cup of coffee and a sandwich. I could see immediately that the bread on offer was not your usual plastic wrapped, Chorleywood pap, but genuine hand crafted breads. I shouldn't have been surprised really, because during a conversation with the owners I learned that both of them are Cordon Bleu trained pâtissières. Artisan bakeries are sprouting up all over the the country at the moment and deserve our support. If you appreciate good bread I would urge you to visit this excellent local bakery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brotegla276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tasting bread I've had...EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My girlfriend kept on raving about this place so I popped in one morning on way to work. The special baked nation bread is to die for!! Will be going back again as soon as I'm in St Albans again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank byront747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious handmade bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I live around the corner from this café and I buy my bread there every week. It's all handmade and it's absolutely delicious!!! They also serve good coffee and tasty savoury snacks and cakes. The best place in St Albans to meet up with friends for a cup of coffee or to grab some lunch on the go Love the rustic but stylish interior. It's so much nicer than Costa or Starbucks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed baked nation also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to baked nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing