We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service and accommodation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a work staff party nearby. After seeing our room and the nearby facilities we didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic and the gentleman behind reception could not have been more helpful during our stay. We were provided with a complimentary upgrade on arrival and our room was stunning. The staff were constantly polite and eager to assist you. The following morning the breakfast provided was also fantastic. I had the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and my husband had the full english. Probably the best breakfast we have had in any hotel, especially the freshly made scrambled eggs which we were informed were whisked up with cream. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area whether it be for a holiday or a short break. As mentioned we were only there for 1 night but we felt like we were on holiday due to the ambiance and service received from the hotel. Thank you White Hart we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Booked for a one night stay and chose the White Hart Inn as it looked to have some character which it certainly does have. An amazing building with twists and turns to get to your room. Having owned an ancient building myself I understand the challenges involved in having modern facilities in a sloping higgledipiggledy building and feel that they have done a good job. It is perhaps a little twee but if you are looking for something with a bit of history this has it in spades. Owing to the historic nature of the building there is no double glazing so there is a bit more traffic noise than would be ideal so I think, overall I would say great for a short break but maybe not for a longer one. The location is great and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSkiBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The loveliest pub we have ever been too. The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. They also served the nicest desserts we have ever tasted! :)
Thank you so much for a brilliant night. Adam and Jodie were serving us and they make such a great team and made our evening really special. Can't recommend highly enough!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixievenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Good parking in the town centre, great for abbey and amenities, wonderful old building. Quaint rooms. The one we had was huge...room 8. Bar very cosy with polite staff. Meal in the restaurant was outstanding with very professional service and a manger who really knew his wines. may not go to St Albans again but if I did I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The room was basic poorly decorated & bathroom was grubby with cracked & broken tiles desparatly in need of refurb.
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay as there was a very good choice with kippers, salmon & smoked haddock on the menu along side the usual english breakfast.
The building itself was historically interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Warner studios on Saturday and had a lovely stay. Staff were helpful friendly and efficient and the hotel had a unique charm about it being so old

We stayed in room 7 which was the four poster suite, beautiful room, comfortable albeit squeaky bed and a fabulous bathroom with a double ended sunken bath. Our friends stayed in room 8 and were also very happy with their room.

Good choice of breakfast good quality and served with a smile both from the chef and the waiter, think his name was Adam.

Would return if back in the area

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just spent the weekend at The White Hart Hotel St Albans and had a great quirky time. Food Superb , this consisted of a full breakfast and Evening Meal, Costing for such good food very good value Staff Excellent and Responsive at all times Well done to Adam , Nothing was a problem to the staff. Great location, did not do the tour but would very much like too on another Visit. Lastly décor in rooms now slightly wearing but overall I loved it , I hope people do visit Great place Paul Cowley (Heath Party weekend ) 09.06.2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulnc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
584 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 23-25 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range: £77 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing