We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly welcome, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 St Albans B&B and Inns
Durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

There was a wedding going on when we arrived, but we were quickly attended to, and upgraded from a double room to a mews apartment as they didn't want us to be disturbed by the wedding, who had booked all of the remaining rooms. Reception staff were very helpful at suggesting places to eat that evening.
Mews apartment was modern and clean, although we did have to turn on the hot water. My only complaint was the shower was so powerful it opened the cubicle door and soaked the floor. The breakfast scrambled eggs were delicious, and the coffee was good. Drinks were expensive (£11 for a pint of beer and a glass of wine).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    130
    43
    28
    25
See reviews for
79
136
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Obviously very old, so you must overlook a few cracks, this just adds to the charm. Can't wait to go back, rooms great, but that's nothing to the lovely staff, they are a credit to hotel. The bar is so addictive with good selection of wine at competitive prices, but topping the list... their chef must get an award for his 5star food
I have never been made so welcome





  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGeorg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, everything very comfortable and service outstanding. The breakfast food was the best we have had in a long time and we all chose something different. If we had realized how pleasant the restaurant is and how good the food was likely to be, we would have booked for dinner here. (Don't be put off by the restaurant photos, it is actually quite light, intimate and there are also tables outside.) Our only criticism from our stay in the Mews would be lack of containment of water from the shower which made the floor really wet, a shower curtain would sort it. However this would not stop us returning, we loved the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen4432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Well done White Hart ! yet again I can truly say that we had a totally brilliant time at The White Hart.We have stayed here before (and also 4 of the top 8 hotels in St Albans) and white Hart always comes out on top. Character, comfort, location brilliant knowledgeable staff, great customer service and the best pubs in the world all in walking distance!
We booked with 2 friends for a birthday treat and they were blown away too, so well done again and special thanks to Adam for putting up with our strange breakfast requests for our BIG man omelette! I originally come from Hertfordshire and enjoyed reminiscing with the staff about our old school! Keep up the good work everyone as us people who keep coming back really appreciate all your hard work, and as for the reviews with little niggles remember this grand old lady of a building is still here after 600 years so accept her age and soak up the atmosphere and appreciate the great staff ! rant over.

Room Tip: Hope you like the sound of church bells!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
431 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had quite show during dinner when we had to send out the first and second bottle of wine which had gone bad (agreed and not disputed by the staff. My Steak then arrived overdone, when it was supposed to be medium rare. The waiter handled this by excusing the chef and quickly returning to the kitchen. He then came back with a new steak - a little to soon it appeared, at it was raw this time. So again, the meat went out into the kitchen to be replaced yet another time. The waiter did his best to save the situation by compensating us and letting us have different types of special aperitifs. We had the feeling of being in the midst of a John Cleese "Faulty Towers" episode...

Room Tip: Try the ghost hunt which starts in August!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked this hotel for a 3 night stay for an elderly Ozzie relative, I wanted something in the city centre and with parking. This hotel satisfied the tick list, but the bonus was the hotel itself, 600 years old, atmosphere and a very good restaurant. If there is a draw back the top floor windows are built into the roof and difficult to open and have limited view, but hey its 600 years old and you can't go around changing its appearance.

Room Tip: If you want a view don't get the top floor and say when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a work staff party nearby. After seeing our room and the nearby facilities we didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic and the gentleman behind reception could not have been more helpful during our stay. We were provided with a complimentary upgrade on arrival and our room was stunning. The staff were constantly polite and eager to assist you. The following morning the breakfast provided was also fantastic. I had the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and my husband had the full english. Probably the best breakfast we have had in any hotel, especially the freshly made scrambled eggs which we were informed were whisked up with cream. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area whether it be for a holiday or a short break. As mentioned we were only there for 1 night but we felt like we were on holiday due to the ambiance and service received from the hotel. Thank you White Hart we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 23-25 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing