We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 St Albans B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Memorable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here in room 4 for one night following a friend's wedding.
I was impressed by the size of the room considering it's such an old building. Lovely comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom with a very powerful shower. The bathroom fittings were modern without detracting from the history of the building.
Some people have marked this hotel down because the floors are uneven, there is no double glazing and the corridors are narrow...well, it is a 500 year old building so what do you expect? It adds to the character and makes it a more memorable stay than most modern hotels around.
Very well located in the centre of the town, with free parking available.
Staff at the check-in desk were pleasant enough and efficient although as some other reviews have pointed out, not particularly friendly.
We did not eat breakfast here so can't comment on this but the dining room looked very comfortable.
We were here as part of a function and the service was adequate.
Would probably stay here again and for £99 for the night I suppose it's on par with most other hotels around.
Look out for the ghosts :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    128
    43
    27
    25
See reviews for
76
132
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been many times to St.Albans and love the city, but this was our first stay at the White Hart Inn, which we chose because of it's history and character, as well as second-to -none location opposite the cathedral. We were not disappointed- we arrived in the afternoon to find a log fire in the gorgeous 15th century beamed inn. It didn't get off to a terribly good start though - we were left standing about waiting to check in for a very long time although there were hardly any customers around, and when the man on duty finally did acknowledge us the welcome was less than enthusiastic. No other comlaints though - the room was very comfortable and clean with tasteful furnishings and a fabulous bathroom. I have become so used to even expensive hotels having utterly rubbish showers that I was thrilled to find one with proper high pressure! We later ate in the restaurant, 'Tudor's', which unfortunately had a rather limited menu but we had an enjoyable meal.We had heard that the inn was haunted but dissapointingly didn't come across any ghosts!. If you want somewhere to stay in St.Alban's that's atmospheric & historical and isn't a bland chain hotel, this is the place. We really enjoyed our 2 nights and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Lots of character in this quirky and interesting place. Room 4 was really spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but not a problem, it had a great shower.
The check in was not the most welcoming I have ever received but ... hey ho!
Wished we'd booked breakfast but sadly we didn't because we thought we wouldn't be up in time.
Good value for money and the location is perfect for an event in central St Albans.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Booked this hotel for one night, mainly based on the convenience of the location, which is right in the centre of St Albans and within walking distance for everything we wanted to do. I did like the character of the property and the fact that it had some of the quirkiness you expect from a historic building - sloping floors, low ceilings, slightly unusual room layout etc. The downside to this is that it is a bit nosier - guests walking past in the corridor and also some road noise. Still the room was a good size, the bed was very comfy and we had everything we needed. There were some nice touches too - lots of coffee, tea and milk in the room, not just a couple of sachets.
I would recommend this hotel and would return another time. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Great location for the Abbey and for our sons's graduation. Full of character, personal friendly and efficient service. Great lunch, large room comfortable and modern ensuite. Highly recommended. If you park then advise you reg number on arrival.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for my daughters graduation and was really looking forward to staying in the hotel with its history. The building is lovely and is full of character and beams etc.

We had requested not to be on the top floor as I am disabled and they gave us room 1 which was at the top of the stairs so had non stop people traffic. Through a door there was a number of further rooms that where just as easy to get to.

On entering the room I was so disappointed. The room was small but had a double bed however it only had a single wardrobe.I;d never seen one before and was surprised to see it.On opening it there was only 1 hanger maybe a hint it was really a single room ! The bathroom well all I can say it was as small as the toilet booth on an aeroplane. The door opened into the bedroom and you stepped up into a plastic booth.The toilet was a very noisy saniflow and I was only just able to fit in the shower was opposite but I didn't use it as it was so small. I couldn't even take my walking stick in due to the size.

The bed had a memory foam mattress which I didn't find comfortable and with the noise from the main road traffic it didn't equate to a good nights sleep.

When we arrived it took 15 mins to get booked in as staff were busy as it was graduation day however I was standing at reception with a case and walking stick so some acknowledgement I was there would have been nice.

On the plus side the breakfast was really well cooked not greasy and had a lovely runny egg. The staff also filled up my hot water bottle for me for the journey home.

I think they need to rethink their prices according to the rooms. Mine was not what we booked. This is such a lovely building with loads of history and could be a really lovely hotel. From the pictures it paints a different story. see mine when I upload them for the real story.

Room Tip: Do'nt go in room 1 its tiny. Try and get rooms not on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M, Owner at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
This is disappointing for us as we went out of our way to give this customer an easily accessible room !

This particular week is always very busy as the University of Hertfordshire conducts its Graduation ceremonies in the Cathedral which is directly opposite us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent location with the Abbey right across the road and easy walking around the streets and to the Roman ruins. The hotel room was great we are a family of 5, apart from the very short doors it was excellent. i loved the feather duvets and pillows, beds were comfortable and the shower was amazing! The floor was not even but then it is 600 years old! Everything was clean and tidy and the English breakfast was the best! Loved the history of the building and the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 23-25 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing