We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual dining”
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #84 of 330 Restaurants in St Albans
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Casual dining”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a nice quick place to eat, with reasonable prices and a taste of Japanese food (although not entirely authentic!). It's family friendly, but not somewhere you want to go for a quiet meal as it's usually very busy, with a lot of families with children. Service is generally good, sometimes a little slow. And beware that they cook the food to order and bring it out as soon as it's ready, so meals may not arrive at the same time. Despite that, I've never had a bad meal here.
I recommend the Chilli Squid, Yaki Soba and White Chocolate Ginger Cheesecake.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    110
    53
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for parents with kids”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have been to Wagamamas a number of times now and get regular takeaways from them, they don't deliver unfortunately but its worth the trip.

The food is consistently good, service is prompt and the best thing is that my two fussy children love it. My older daughter is vegetarian and if its not pasta or pizza it doesn't usually get a look in but at Wagamama's shes tried deep fried sweet potato, endame beans and all their other dishes and loves them, as does my 5 year old (who isn't veggie but loves the food too). Their juices are gorgeous too and we all love them.

It's a great restaurant for kids as its quick, the foods tasty without being fussy and its not too quiet which makes most parents relax!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank K125T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lunch with my son”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A tad on the expesnive side for noodles and rice based dishes but on all visits a good consistency of food and service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dbgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mid week lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have visited this restaurant a few times and always find the food service quick, efficient and friendly and the food tasty and good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went on Friday, 7th March 14. Had a nice mean of Fish Ramen and Duck Gyoza. The Ramen was very filling and didnt finish it. Unfortunately I suffered with severe food poisoning more than likely from the fish. I wouldnt ever go back for this reason.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LynseyRou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing