We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food and service”

Lussmanns - St Albans
Ranked #8 of 336 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in leafy St Albans, just off the High Street and next to the Cathedral and Abbey Church, Lussmanns Fish and Grill is a chic brasserie-style restaurant that has won over the hearts of the local gourmet set and established itself as the locals' favourite fish and grill restaurant. Spread out over three floors, Lussmanns restaurant combines polished oak, steel-and-leather seating and a sculptural glass ceiling to create a stylish dining room flooded with natural light. Lussmanns champions artisan food producers and is passionate about sourcing their produce ethically from independent and sustainable farms. Situated within walking distance of Verulamiam Park with its Roman remains and St Albans' town centre, this is an ideal spot for business meetings, dates and family get-togethers.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As the title suggests this restaurant is great. If I could afford to I would eat there on a regular basis!

1  Thank mac_liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for your very complimentary review. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much and do try our value-driven set menu (available daily from 12-7pm) if you haven’t already. With thanks and regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
There are newer reviews for Lussmanns - St Albans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 696 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had dinner early and was offered the lunch menu if I ordered before 7pm which was perfect. I thought the food was tasty and the atmosphere in the restaurant was pleasant but what was especially impressive was the customer service, the servers were very friendly, smily and attentive (Emily).

Very enjoyable 3 course meal for £14.50 I couldn't go wrong! Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Glbtrttr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Our 12-7pm daily set menu (2 courses for £11.95, 3 for £14.50) has been a staple of Lussmanns for many years so it’s satisfying to know that its quality and value are continuing to impress, along with our friendly service. Many thanks for your support and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having enjoyed the set menu on several occasions we booked for a larger party of eight. On arrival our table was ready but we were told we had to have the (more expensive) party menu as we were more than six. One of our party has particular dietary requirements, not met by the Party Menu, so had to choose from the a la carte. We were then told that, as one was not using the Party Menu, none of us could. We ended up paying around double what the Set menu would have cost - albeit for (often) different food.
We were not informed of these restrictions when making the booking. Moreover it is a puzzle why the kitchen could not cope with one person going a la carte with everyone else on the Party (or even the Set) menu. But it could cope with everyone going a la carte.
Will we return? What do you think?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback and for providing additional information in response to my email request. Although the time between your visit and review has made it difficult to establish exactly what went wrong, as always, we appreciate having direct contact to learn from our mistakes and make amends. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went for lunch with my mother. Attentive staff and fabulous food. Definately will go back - not a place for children

1  Thank Beccabee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Many thanks for your five star review. Lovely to hear that food and service impressed during lunch with your mother. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 25 July 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Popped in with a friend for lunch. It was a hot day and the restaurant was nicely air conditioned. We were seated promptly.
We ate off the lunch menu, offering two or three courses. We started with cod cheeks in lime and chilli. They were very tasty but could have done with some bread or a roll on the side. This was not offered. We then chose the steak and Moroccan lamb salad. My steak was tasty and my friend said the salad was very nice. We were too full for a sweet.
My only gripe would be the cost of soft drinks. I feel that £2.10 for a small glass of draught coke is excessive. Bottled juices were £2.70. I should have stuck to the tap water on offer.
Good service.

2  Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent lunch with us. Good to know that our popular, value-driven daily set menu and service impressed. As diners’ preferences for bread differ, and to minimise waste, we provide it only on request but are always happy to do so. We try to be competitive in our drinks pricing, charging less than some high street chains for coke and juices but, as you say, provide filtered tap water to all our diners as part of our efforts to be sustainable. I hope that we can look after you again. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 25 July 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lussmanns - St Albans also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lussmanns - St Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing