We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting the customer at the heart of the service. A wonderful experience. Thoroughly reccomend .”

The Restaurant at Sopwell House
Ranked #56 of 336 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at Sopwell House is located in a stunning Georgian country house in St Albans. With its high ceilings and classic, sleek decor and AA Rosette award-winning status, The Restaurant serves modern British and European cuisine. Opening Hours: Lunch: 12:30pm to 3:00pm on Sunday, Wednesday & Friday. Dinner: 7:00pm to 9.30Pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday.
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Family gathering for an 80th birthday. The staff (particually Chantelle)could not do enough to make it the perfect day . Service excellent, venue had perfect atmosphere and ambience,food scrumptious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mefunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Restaurant at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sopwell House and I am glad Chantelle stood out as providing excellent service for such a special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the 81st birthday celebrations if not before!

Warm regards

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for The Restaurant at Sopwell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

we have just returned home after spending the week end at Sopwell House,we were really looked after and nothing was to much trouble.We were there for a wedding I can say the room ,the food and the staff all wonderful and helped to make it a fantastic week end . so all I can say is Thank you to all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank desley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Restaurant at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your fabulous review.

Great feedback is always a great motivator for our team to continue providing the perfect wedding venue and helping create those very special memories that last a lifetime.

I am delighted you had a lovely time and I hope you will come back and visit us again very soon.

Warm regards

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Bland food, bland atmos, for bland people, Seems to get celeb spotting customers exited - tasteless. Have visited several times in the past 10 years - still the same blandness,

Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Restaurant at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your visit back in September 2011.

The hotel has undergone considerable refurbishment since your last visit and so I do hope you will take the time to visit us again and give us your views.

I look forward to warmly welcoming you to the hotel and am confident bland is not an adjective that will spring to mind.

We look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.


Warm regards

Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The food was sooo good quick services very attentive, I didn’t even look at the time, he chicken in the curry was very tender and the meringue was crunchy and chew ( well Perfect)

Thank cgooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Really sad to say the food is not exciting and the cost is extortionate.
Service was poor and overal a rather sad experience. Shame as its a nice hotel and a lovely building.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Sopwell House also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Restaurant at Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing