We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable afternoon tea”

The Restaurant at Sopwell House
Ranked #64 of 329 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant at Sopwell House is located in a stunning Georgian country house in St Albans. With its high ceilings and classic, sleek decor and AA Rosette award-winning status, The Restaurant serves modern British and European cuisine. Opening Hours: Lunch: 12:30pm to 3:00pm on Sunday, Wednesday & Friday. Dinner: 7:00pm to 9.30Pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reasonable afternoon tea”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea - a little disappointed to book for in the cocktail bar and find it was closed for refurbishment. Food was average, crumbs on the chair I when we sat down was a shame. Good service, fairly priced. Nicer locations for afternoon tea locally.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire2012London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaitape, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a nice dinner here. The duck Ballantine was amazing and the filet a real treat. They also bring a plate with an Happy birthday message for my dessert. Lovely

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHAJean-Baptiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - a shame about the food”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Restaurant at Sopwell House is situated in the most perfect surroundings but sadly the food has much to be desired - and it is a world away from fine dining. My main was a limp piece of sea bream with almost raw skin thrown over a watery green underseasoned, cold mash. Bizarrely this was served with loads of salad. Note to chef: when did salad and mashed potato go together?? The last couple of mouthfuls were hard to swallow but I was hungry. Meanwhile, my husband's rare steak was just overcooked. He sent it back and it arrived better - but only rare in places and overcooked in others. As a consolation the chef thought to send more vegetables. A ridiculous extra dish of veg that could have served four people turned up. Of course we couldn't eat all of that and how sad to see good food wasted. Much better to knock some money off the bill. The desserts however were absolutely great. I had a fabulous plum crumble and custard which was delicious. If it were not for the puddings, then this place would have just got one star for overall rating. Sadly though it was downhill again at coffee time. We chose to take this in the freezing lounge - one of the guests we took was so cold she put her coat on. My husband asked for a cappuccino which never turned up. Instead we were all served the worst coffee all of us have ever tasted out of old fashioned pots. This was one of the worst meals we have ever had and we won't be going back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisoncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“How Sad”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely setting
Wonderful happy waiting staff
Dreadful food
Scallops overcooked (chewy) & Cold.
Main course Cold - sent back twice & 3rd time missing main part.
Such a shame.

Helpful?
3 Thank HemelGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

On previous visits to sopwell house we'd been really messed about and vowed never to go again, so when an uncle booked this for his 70th bday meal, to say we were apprehensive was a understatement!
They have upped their game since the last visit but I'm still not 100% convinced.
The decor has been updated and is nice and modern, the food was nice, but not mind blowing, and the service was ok (after they'd managed to find our booking and apologise for not setting up a reserved area in the bar for pre dinner drinks as promised). Apart from that, it has improved and has the potential to be a first class venue, just needs a bit more tweeking!

Helpful?
Thank MinkyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Sopwell House also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Restaurant at Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing