We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at Sopwell House

The Restaurant at Sopwell House
Ranked #61 of 323 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$75
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant at Sopwell House is located in a stunning Georgian country house in St Albans. With its high ceilings and classic, sleek decor and AA Rosette award-winning status, The Restaurant serves modern British and European cuisine. Opening Hours: Lunch: 12:30pm to 3:00pm on Sunday, Wednesday & Friday. Dinner: 7:00pm to 9.30Pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday.
dagenham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were there for a few days had a lovely meal in the restaurant some of the meals were very pricey we had the steak meal for just under £20 it was very nice and you would pay that in most places . The staff were very helpful and polite i would eat there again .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angeladagenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    28
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We took 25 friends and family here to celebrate our silver wedding. Afternoon tea was fabulous, staff were very attentive, we could stay as long as we liked. Have since been back with other friends and it was equally as good. Recommend to everyone, very good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal in the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sopwell House overnight and we had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. The service was attentive but not overbearing and the a la carte food was of a high standard, beautifully presented and tasty. We enjoyed our meal very much and would return. Similarly the buffet breakfast in the restaurant was very good, a lively buzzy atmosphere and plenty of choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just stayed one night here. The hotel is lovely, rooms are great and spa while not the best we have visited is adequate. Our dinner in the restaurant however was rather disappointing. The restaurant had our reservation time wrong, even though we had called and emailed to check the details prior to arrival and checked again on arrival at the hotel. The amuse bouche was a cold tomato soup containing far too much raw onion which immediately put our pallets in jeopardy. The starters were quite pleasant. My husband had a lamb dish for main course which included a lamb cutlet. It was tiny, and very overlooked, so we sent it back to the kitchen. They then sent out two cutlets, both of which were so undercooked they were inedible. The waiting staff were horrified and thankfully took the dish off our bill, but it completely put us off the meal and we left without having dessert (which we never do!).
Breakfast the next morning was certainly varied however the cooked breakfast buffet was not being kept hot enough. We heard other customers complaining about the food too.
It is a real shame that the food is letting this lovely hotel down, and as food lovers, we would not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 898Emma898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre and not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sopwell house has a lovely atmosphere and a very sophisticated vibe. When we first arrived we took the opportunity to taste some of the cocktails at the bar and they were really delicious (and very expensive but, we were expecting that).

We then progressed to the restaurant and ordered what we hoped would be a beautiful meal. The food itself was mediocre and really not worth what we were paying. There was nothing wrong with the meal but it wasn't anything to write home about either.

Save your money and go somewhere else!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshy_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Sopwell House also viewed

 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Restaurant at Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing