We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fleuchary House No. 29

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fleuchary House No. 29
Ranked #1 of 16 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penistone, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed in St Albans several weekends when our football team are playing Watford. Having previously stayed at the Comfort Inn and Quality Hotel we thought we would have a change and so glad we did. The friendliness, attention to detail and the breakfasts make this a much better place to stay. Very handy for the city centre and the wonderful pubs,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyratingjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
143
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms all individually designed and made up. Beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The landlady is friendly, helpful and makes you feel really welcome. Great if you need a break out of London (St Albans is 30 mins from St Pancras with Cathedral etc)
Used it a few times for friends - always very happy visits!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThisisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay in Fleuchary House, which is in easy walking distance of St Albans City Centre. The room was outstanding, with a magnificent bathroom. Linda has thought of everything for the room, that will enhance your stay. We will definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trace272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was the second time I stayed at No 29, having been impressed by the first. Linda is an excellent host who is always very helpfully and cooks a great full English breakfast, as well as an equally impressive fruit option.

Both of the rooms I stayed in were very spacious, the bed was massive and very comfortable All the facilities are very modern and the waterfall style shower is great!

I have stayed in a few places in St Albans but this is easily the best, I would happily go back here again. I would definitely recommend this to friends, however book well in advance as I believe the B&B gets booked up quite quickly (and for good reason!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomJDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a great stay. We needed to stay at Fleuchary House for an extended time whilst waiting for our new property to be completed. What a find, Linda was the perfect hostess and there was absolutely nothing we could complain about. The bedroom we had was immaculate; clean, well decorated and spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. The en-suite shower room was well stocked with everything you could possibly want. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices and always more if you wanted. We would heartily recommend anyone to stay here..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Fleuchary House (B&B) and we loved our stay just as much as our first experience. We stayed seven nights and it was just a delightful, cozy and welcoming environment. The "innkeeper" (Linda) was a perfect hostess and her breakfasts, which included a full English breakfast were absolutely delicious and a wonderful way to start the day. The room was so comfortable we hated to leave it when it was time to return home.
We plan on returning next year to St. Albans, England and part of our enjoyment is our "must" stay at the Fleuchery House. Enjoy...we did!
Mark & Barbara

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This B&B was a perfect base for my one week business trip to the UK, with several days in London. A great sleep in an exceptionally well appointed room, and hot shower in a bathroom that would put many high-end hotels to shame, and a superb cooked full English breakfast (thanks for getting the black pudding!) made for great days. Linda is a wonderful hostess and goes out of her way to ensure your stay is the very best that it can be. I'll certainly be returning for future trips, and using 29 as a base could not be bettered. Thank you for a super stay and look forward to the return in june.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are a little quieter if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleuchary House No. 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleuchary House No. 29

Property: Fleuchary House No. 29
Address: 29 Upper Lattimore Road, St Albans AL1 3UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleuchary House No. 29 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fleuchary House continues to enjoy its fantastic new premises at No. 29 Upper Lattimore Road, where you will receive our Gold award winning service in boutique hotel luxury surroundings yet at great value prices. Our unique quiet location in the centre of St. Albans overlooks the walled garden of a former nunnery to the front and with trees to the rear, you could be in the country yet are still only 5 min walk from the historic Cathedral quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fleuchary House No. 29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleuchary House @ No. 29 Hotel St. Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing