We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fleuchary House No. 29
Ranked #1 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in April, on our way to visit friends in Cambridge. We didn't see much of St Albans, but the house is ideally located for walking into town. The room was lovely - clean, fresh and airy. We had a lovely ensuite and the shower was great! Breakfast was delicious, and very generous. We have stayed in lots of places, and this was one of the better ones. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
56
149
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Before travelling to St. Albans I'd researched B and B options to death. I eventually settled on Fleuchary House due to its location and availability and wow! We stumbled on a great gem.

Linda was fantastic from the get-go. We got a beautiful pink room on the top floor with our own ensuite. Our late arrival didn't deter Linda from offering us a warm welcome and helpful induction to the house. We had a spectacular nights sleep and a brilliant breakfast the morning after. It also has strong and free wifi - a must these days!

We enjoyed our stay so much we've booked it for next week too. A great find, great value and a lovely home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Everything about this B&B is lovely, hostess, breakfast, room, off street parking, etc, etc. Just to echo what other reviewers have said, we can't fault it. Also it's only a short walk from the shops and restaurants of St Albans and the mainline train station gets you into St Pancras in 20 minutes for the attractions of London. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitbygalDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our forth visit to this beautiful B&B. Linda looked after us with her customary charm and faultless service. We love the beautiful "Scottish" room, now even better with the addition of a spa bath. It is the attention to the small details that makes staying here so fantastic. Quality teas and biscuits in the rooms. Luxurious toiletries in the bathrooms. The attentive but unobtrusive service. The breakfasts are superb. My husband has the full English, whilst I opt for the generous fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt. Definitely the best B&B we've ever stayed in. We've rebooked for next year!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

6th May an overnight stay - Linda gave us a very warm welcome - beautiful house - excellent room with everything to a very high standard - giant bed was so comfy we slept for 12 hours after driving from Norfolk then enjoying St Albans - 29 is just a short walk from the town - we would not hesitate to recommend 29 as a great place to stay and should we need accommodation again this would be our choice. Don & Ani - Norfolk

Room Tip: All rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I, also my friend and her daughter stayed at this delightful dwelling and used it as a base for our sightseeing trip to London. Linda made us feel so welcome with her warm personality and helpful demeanor. I suffer with Coeliac's disease which has often made me feel like an outcast when eating out or staying away from home, but Linda treated me to the most delightful full english breakfast accompanied by gluten free toast. I felt confident in Linda's knowledge of my condition as she double checked ingredients with me. Enough of me, the room we stayed in was simply beautiful, it was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated to a high standard. I can't wait to come here again (this was my first visit) and enjoy the hospitality shown during our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at Fleuchary House for 12 days having just moved to the UK from Australia. It proved to be a perfect welcome to the London area. St Albans is a very easy 20 minute train ride from London St Pancras and Fleuchary House is only a five minute walk from the train station. It is also very close to the city centre, the abbey and everything else you might like to see and do in St Albans. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have comfortable beds, making a stay of any duration a pleasant experience.

However, the heart of it all is Linda, who could indeed run a master class on how to run a B&B. She is friendly, welcoming, attentive, and makes every guest feel special. The "communal" breakfast table proved to be an unexpected bonus. Every morning we met someone else who was able to provide practical tips on banking, house-hunting, nice areas to live, etc.

After 12 days we were ready to have a bit more space and our own kitchen, but we will never forget our friendly welcome to the UK at "Linda's place". Highly recommended. PS And yes, the breakfasts are as good as the other reviewers indicate!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
572 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
2.6 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleuchary House No. 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleuchary House No. 29

Property: Fleuchary House No. 29
Address: 29 Upper Lattimore Road, St Albans AL1 3UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleuchary House No. 29 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fleuchary House continues to enjoy its fantastic new premises at No. 29 Upper Lattimore Road, where you will receive our Gold award winning service in boutique hotel luxury surroundings yet at great value prices. Our unique quiet location in the centre of St. Albans overlooks the walled garden of a former nunnery to the front and with trees to the rear, you could be in the country yet are still only 5 min walk from the historic Cathedral quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fleuchary House No. 29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleuchary House @ No. 29 Hotel St. Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing