We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple but sooo good”

The BlackBerry Jack
Ranked #190 of 326 Restaurants in St Albans
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“simple but sooo good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

this is a simple pub which has excellent food. I had a rib-eye steak with mushrooms, onion rings tomato and fried onions, changed my chips for salad, best steak I have ever had, husband had plain fish and chips, excellent crispy batter, mushy peas, very good. We both had an alcoho;ic drink and the bill was less trhan £20 . Fancied a dessert, two scoops of very good ice cream with chocolate sauce, 99P each. At these prices we can afford to eat out and get a really good meal

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillywigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Estate boozer ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A sizzling steak or something like that. The food is always reasonable and the staff usually friendly. It's a nice local boozer built like most estate pubs. The real ale is usually on good condition although there is hardly any variety

Helpful?
1 Thank Highwayman8155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pub restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Restaurant in the conservatory of a pub. It can get busy and a bit noisy, but the food is always good and reasonably priced. There burgers are some of the best I've tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food for a cheap price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Went here with my daughter and son for lunch, was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was, a lot off thought had gone into the presentation off the food and the food was cooked to perfection and all for a very good price, I ve paid double at other restaurants for the same thing that I ate and I d say that this meal was one off the best I ve had. Will definiatly be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melmesa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Had yet another very nice lunch at the jack today,very nice staff,food was very good, enjoyed every bit
Will go back again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julshertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The BlackBerry Jack also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The BlackBerry Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing