We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute supper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Espresso

Bar Espresso
Ranked #13 of 324 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$50
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family run restuarant serving traditional homecooked Italian food cooked from fresh with passion. We also have montly specials including desserts.
St albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Last minute supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, authentic and simple.
Excellent value dishes on the menu and some more expensive.
Friendly attentive service, would highly recommend and will go back.
Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank chunky3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    20
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a wonderful night! We went for our W.I Christmas party. Ross, and team, were wonderful from the first communication all the way through to saying good bye at the end of the night.

We booked the restaurant for 28 ladies and enjoyed a set menu. The quality of food was fantastic, the portions were large and the speed was perfect - not a cold meal in sight.
Everyone enjoyed their experience immensely as the atmosphere was friendly and not rushed and the staff were super friendly.

All in all the experience was superb! We will be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkVioletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A hidden jem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Why oh why did I not know about this place before? Well I know now! Bar Espresso is a family run restaurant - not like the big chain with staff do not give a damn. Great service and great food. 5 of us were there on Friday 6th Dec. My mains were the spaghetti with lobster. A whole delicious lobster with clams, king prawns, muscles and other things from the sea. It was as good as, if not better than some of the top restaurants where I had this dish before. The other 4 mains were just as good, one of which was a superb grilled sea bass. I can't get over how good this small place is. Will I be going back? you bet I will. It's best to book or you may not get a table.'So if you are in St Albans and want to have a great meal go give it try. You will be pleased you did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, even better value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked Bar Expresso to celebrate a 50th birthday and did not disappoint. The food was good, and so much better than the chained restaurants that suppose they are 'Italian'. Restaurant is small, warming and the staff are attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a relaxed meal in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saucy Lobster ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Started off with a great wine menu, a party of six of us shared a few bottles of 'Saliche Salentino' and was to easy to drink. We shared a selection of starts which were all very nice but would defiantly recommend the muscles. For main i went for the half lobster with clams, muscles, squid, king prawns on a bed of spaghetti. It was the best thing i had ever tasted in my life ( need to find out what he puts n the sauce) but i think thats unlikly ha ha. Friendly and Relaxing atmosphere run by very nice staff! Cant wait to go back and to recommend this little gem to my friends and family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Espresso also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Bar Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing