We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anglo French perfection”
Review of Wisteria House

Wisteria House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Wight
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisteria House
Ranked #131 of 228 Isle of Wight B&B and Inns
Dinan, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anglo French perfection”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at this B&B when my father was taken ill,we wanted a base close to his home as we live in France.I can say that the accommodation was perfect! The hostess friendly excellent food! The location perfect for our problem! We enjoyed our stay and will return ,this time for a holiday. Well done Phil you have top accommodation and give perfect service. Paul Hardiman

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great b&b - comfy bed and breakfast was a real highlight

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here with couple mates , must say really loved it , room was really good with on suite . Wanted to stay longer lol. Breakfast was really nice as well

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We went to the Isle of Wight to attend the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Concert at Osborne House, looking for a B & B in the area for the weekend we were lucky to find Wisteria House.
Phil is a very friendly & hospitable hostess and an excellent cook. Our accomodation was clean, comfortable bright with more than ample cupboard / drawer space.
Breakfasts were first class with fresh home made blueberry muffins, fresh fruti salads and yoghurt to compliment cereals, fruit juice, toast and your choice of a full English cooked breakfast.
We'll definitely be going back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen_wheeler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Traveled to Isle of Wight on a business trip and clubbed it with pleasure, visiting all the beautiful locales around the island. Was looking for a B&B which offered a nice peaceful stay clubbed with a sumptuous breakfast and stumbled upon Wisteria House. To my surprise the stay was very pleasant and Mrs. Phil Gillan who manages the place is an excellent host.It is located quite close to the Osborne house and there is bus connection available to all the parts of the island.
While it has only 4 guest rooms in all and all of them on the first floor with a small flight of steps to take one there. Rooms were very well maintained with the beds being quite comfortable and lot of typical British furniture and antiques neatly arranged in the room. Nice homely feel all around and the rooms are well insulated and so there is no disturbance from other rooms too.
Bathroom was very neat with all the toiletries provided, shower was also good with hot water available all the times. Note that some rooms have smaller baths, one can ask for the room with bigger baths if particular about it.
Breakfast is the highlight of the all, I was asked for a choice of dishes and the same was cooked and prepared very well. Apart from the cooked food, the regular corn flakes , orange juice and others too were provided.
One small drawback, or rather two was the TV. While one room has a LCD TV the other has small 14" TV and has no satellite connection so we get 2 or 3 channels and that too at a very bad quality. Another glitch is the absence of a wifi connection, it would have made the stay perfect except for these two drawbacks.
At 45 pounds this is a very good B&B and provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raj_advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Wight hotels
0.2 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Crossways House
Crossways House
#5 of 29 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales Pub
Prince of Wales Pub
#2 of 2 in East Cowes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria House

Property: Wisteria House
Address: 191 York Avenue | East Cowes, PO32 6BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Wight
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very welcoming B&B in East Cowes on Isle of Wight. We are proud of or official tourist office 4* rating and are sure you will enjoy a very comfortable stay. All accommodation is double bedded and en-suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing