We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest choux bun ever!”

Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Biggest choux bun ever!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The cream cakes and huge and very tasty. It is a shame they don't have a proper coffee machine though. Other member of the family ate lunch and enjoyed it. There was a long queue and the staff were quite slow and not the friendliest. The gift shop is well stocked but very expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude member of staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Godshill is a beautiful village and definitely worth a visit, but the same cannot be said of
The Old Smithy, it's expensive for a start, the cakes and pastries, are lovely, but overpriced.
The lady who served me was rude, she barely acknowledged me. She went onto serve someone else and they received the same response. While I was in the tearoom, I witnessed the member of staff go over to someone she recognised and her attitude changed completely.
I then went into the gift shop, the staff behind the till must have gone to the same Customer Service training course, no politeness, she just appeared irritated that the items I had bought needed boxes, so therefore she had to go to the stockroom.
We visited The Old Smithy at 11am, so it was hardly the busiest time of the day.
I would recommend if you visit the village, you find another place for refreshments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surly staff and overpriced food”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The old smithy has the monopoly in Godshill. As the coaches arrive in their car park they are shepherded into the cafe and shop to buy overpriced food. After visiting recently, I will not return. The cake, although very tasty, was expensive and the coffee did not even come from a proper coffee machine, but I was charged a lot of money for a latte from a push button machine. To complete the disappointment, the staff are unhelpful and basically rude, unless of course you are known as a local and then you get preferential service!!
There are much better places to eat in Godshill and across the island, where you receive value for money and real customer service. I am actually local and was ashamed by how the staff ( yes they were busy) treated their customers. A smile and a please and thank you take no time at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good home made food”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Excellent home made Pasties plus cream teas and a large variety of cakes. Great gift area too. Godshill is a lovely place to visit and after all the sight seeing, it was lovely to finish the day off with a nice cream tea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea @ Old Smithy”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very reasonably priced decent quality and wholesome food in a pleasant surrounding. Only down side was the hordes of foreign tourist coach tours which seemed to arrive on mass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Smithy Tea Rooms also viewed

Whippingham, Isle of Wight
 
Shalfleet, Isle of Wight
Bonchurch, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Old Smithy Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing