We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oggies” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oggies

Oggies
Ranked #308 of 634 Restaurants in Isle of Wight
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oggies”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The food was under cooked, the drink was watery with hard lumps and the service was slow. I would not be willing to travel to Newport and pay the prices they charge

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AVERAGE FISH & CHIPS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The food is OK but not outstanding. I wouln't travel to Newport just for a meal in this place. The chips are so so - nothing special. There are tables outside where you can sit in the church square which is pleasant on a good day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,065 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“good fish and chip restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had a pensioners special which is still a standard size fish with less chips you get bread and butter and a drink so it is very good value. The fish was good with very good batter the chips were average. The restaurant is very clean with friendly staff

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Would have been very good but for the awful service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The fish and chips here were excellent - very tasty.

Unfortunately I question the reasoning behind making this place into a theme restaurant of Surly Teens.

I've naught against teenagers earning a bob and learning how to deal with the public, but here they just could not give two hoots. They've got some great grub on the plate that will do most of the job for them, so for the indifference to shine past that is quite an achievement - even though it's one not to be complimented on.

The coffee was pretty dire too - looked like very weak tea. The teen slouched off with it when we complained and slammed down a replacement that was marginally better.

If I'm ever on the Island again, hopefully the weather will be better and I can enjoy a takeaway thus avoiding the restaurant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barnum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent chip shop in town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

One of my favourite places to grab something to eat when I'm in Newport.
Has walk in counter for you to take away which open till about 8 in the evening, or has a large sit down restaurant connected next door which is open 10 till 4.
Is always very very clean and hygienic, staff are always pleasant, and food is always beautifully cooked to perfection. Prices are good, about the same as alot of chip shops , sausage chips beans and a drink around £6, burger and chips about a fiver etc, but the food here is much better than a lot of other places that charge the same amount of money.

Would recommend this chippy to anyone - you will get a great meal for a cheap price ! Can't ask for better than that !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatesy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oggies also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 
Newport, Isle of Wight
Newport, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Oggies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing