We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe my expectations were too high”

Ranked #48 of 183 things to do in Isle of Wight
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Maybe my expectations were too high”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We walked along this path between Seaview and Bembridge. It was not a coastal path for a majority of the length. We hardly saw the sea and spent most of the journey between high garden fences down unmade roads. No views to be seen. Not really a pleasant walk. I was going to give it 2/5, but now as I type and remember what it was like and how we all felt, its lucky to get 1/5. Avoid this section.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GlyderFawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Constantly changing scenery”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent 3 months walking the Island retracing boyhood adventures from urban to rural.
All signposted and mainly easy access. Just be aware that four seasons can happen in one day so suitable clothing and shoes advisable
IOW just a magical place, just do it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 2TravellingEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly varied terrain.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

You need good boots or walking shoes for most of the coastal path. Don't be fooled by the fact you might have joined the path in an urban setting. Outside the towns and villages, the path can be steep, fairly exposed, or quite muddy.

That said, it offers fantastic walks for ramblers and, apart from those sections which skirt around modern housing estates and holiday villages, something for everyone who enjoys the great outdoors.

Those sections which wind their way through or around the steep Chines are particularly enjoyable. The sections western side near The Needles are very enjoyable other than the crowded areas around the coach parks and tourist honey pots at Alum Bay. However, the view of the bay, the Hampshire and Dorset coasts and the Needles make this price worth paying.

If you're based in one place, a great way to access the coastal path is using the bus service. Southern Vectis sells good value rover tickets which facilitate linear walks. A timetable is a handy addition to your pack but, on most routes, the frequency means it is not absolutely essential.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JJfromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Everybody should go!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful landscapes! very quiet place... We went there in winter so we couldn't find many attractions opened...but we really enjoyed the see sight ...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aniramary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walk walk and walk again!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We always go for nice long walks when in the IOW a lot of which are on parts of the costal paths. We always enjoy the views and varied terrain. Be careful of the edges of some parts as this winters storm damage has left its mark.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle Of Wight Coastal Footpath also viewed

 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle Of Wight Coastal Footpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing