We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head
Ranked #16 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a short break at the hotel,it's location is a little walling distance from Canterbury town centre but this gives you more chances to see stuff and there's a bus stop just along from the pub.
Found the atmosphere to be quite nice and the rooms although small are cosy and bathroom is very modern.
The food is excellent and you'll find the pub does get quite busy I personally ate at the place every evening mainly because the food was excellent,breakfast as well was fantastic and the owners are friendly you feel like you are staying with family ....all in all I'd recommend to anyone who's looking for a cheaper option and doesn't mind a short walk to the city centre

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arfur400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
32
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

A top value place to stay when visiting Canterbury. Located only 15 minutes walk from the town centre and bus station, this B&B offers great value for money.

My room, at the back of the pub, was clean and well set up, with a good selection of complimentary toiletries, a generous hospitality tray, hairdrier, clock radio and TV/DVD player with Freesat. The room had a very clean and modern, but extremely tiny, ensuite.

I also ate dinner in the pub itself. Very decent size portions, tasty food at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was great too.

The hosts, Ena and Mike were very hospitable as was Milly the cat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Kings Head is an advert for choosing the British B&B over a boring, clinical chain hotel. Run by a lovely couple, it is a perfect place to stay for a couple of nights in the Canterbury area. Welcoming, clean, well run with a nice pub below and a delicious hearty breakfast for a very reasonable price. We enjoyed our stay very much indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joegileswalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Kings Head for 1 night whilst visiting nearby Whitstable for the Oyster festival. We were able to check in straight away when we arrived around 1pm which was good. The room was small, but had everything we needed. The double bed was very comfy, there was a flat screen tv, hairdryer, tea and coffee etc. In the bathroom there were complimentary toiletries. There was only a small wardrobe space, which was fine as we were only staying for 1 night - if you were staying a week then I would suggest it is a bit small. The Kings Head is in a good location, close to a local bus stop where you can get the 6A bus in to Whitstable which costs around £3.50 and takes approx 20 mins. It is also just a 10 minute walk from Canterbury West train station. There is a breakfast menu in the room which you can complete and hand in the night before specifying the time you would like breakfast - this is good as it meant that we weren't waiting around. The breakfast was really good - juice, tea/coffee, choice of cereal, and a full english breakfast where you pick and choose what you want and how you like your eggs. really good nights stay at an excellent price! We would absolutely stay again as we'd like to explore Canterbury more as it looked really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyeh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Needed a place to stay in Canterbury at short notice. Booked through laterooms.com -- very smooth and efficient.

Pros:
Exquisitely clean
A shower that works really well
Very comfortable, firm bed
Excellent (full English) breakfast

Cons:
The breakfast coffee was dire: weak instant coffee in a jug.
Room very warm but window opened onto A28: choice between being hot (even with the provided fan) or traffic noise.

That said, I would happily return if I again need accommodation in Canterbury.

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesn't overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetenterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

A really lovely little place, very clean and welcoming. Great place to explore Canterbury from, with a brilliant breakfast at a really good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here for the long wend, the rooms were lovely had flat screen tele, comfy beds, clean towels everyday, toiletries in the bathroom. staff & the locals were lovely. would recommend this to any1 & if i was to visit canterbury again i would return to the kings head. id say its better than some of the hotels you would pay alot for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaraBEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#8 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: 204 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head is a beautiful, traditional English inn dating from the 15th Century. We pride ourselves in being a privately owned, free house serving quality ales & food in convivial surroundings. Guests are made to feel at home by our friendly staff & regular bar clientele. We are very proud that so many visitors choose to return again & again, mainly, we think, due to the warm welcome they receive as 'locals', even though they may live hundreds or thousands of miles away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing