We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #17 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night weekend stay and must say it was a very good experience. Checked in by a friendly lady and shown up to our room, which was on the front of the hotel. Although it overlooked the busy A28 we were never bothered by any noise and slept very well. For those light sleepers, ear plugs were provided. As has previously been mentioned the room and shower are on the small side but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Lots of little extras were provided.
Breakfasts were excellent, ordered the night before. Bar food was good and reasonably priced. Plenty of locals in the bar who were all a friendly bunch, a very good choice of real ales is available. All staff were extremely pleasant. Car parking available but it's a bit of a tight fit. Outside smoking area is the best we have seen, undercover and heated.
Should we return to the area, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mogsy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
36
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were attending a music festival for bank holiday. I booked this hotel as it looked quaint, within walking distance to the City and served real ale.. What a little gem!!! The room was quaint, with beamed ceilings, nicely decorated and very clean. It had character to say the least. There is only 3 rooms so it is very personal. We did come in late in the morning :) so the creaky floor boards were a bit loud but all in all, perfect. The garden is a sanctuary and you would not think that there was a busy main road out front. Parking is available too. The owner had 6 cats, which I adored. Breakfast was smashing. Very hospitable and an awesome memory..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trix789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Comfortable room, great breakfast, friendly staff. The pub is about a ten-fifteen minute walk into the centre, perfectly placed for sightseeing. The building has plenty of character and is surrounded by some decent little restaurants - a nice Indian, a good chippy - although the pub's own food is great too. I had very little to complain about, except perhaps the low ceiling in my shower, but at the price I paid that was something I was happy to live with - and in a way it added to the building's charm.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am recently back form Canterbury where I stayed at The Kings Head for 3 nights B&B. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the city centre. The staff and locals are friendly and helpful and my bedroom was cosy and comfortable. Although I was travelling alone, I felt very comfortable at all times - even sitting in the bar with my book and a pint! I had 2 evening meals there and both were fabulous - the young chef deserves a special mention - he is very skilled and the food was delicious.
Canterbury is a fantastic city to visit - so much to do and see - and it I were to go back, I would book myself back into The Kings Head.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My brother and I were visiting Shepherd Neame Brewery in nearby Faversham and we picked the King's Head as it is featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide, 2013. Lovely place to stay excellent food and great cask beer. The curry night on Thursday is a definite recommend as the chef was good enough to make our meal to our taste buds - hot !!!. Careful in room No 1 if you are over 5 feet tall and taking a shower !!. In all fairness the owners have done a really good job adapting the rooms to fit the layout and structure of the old building. You select what breakfast you want the night before and leave it at the bar and it is served with a pleasant no fuss manner. We stayed two nights, had a drink in the bar both nights and were made very welcome by all the locals and regulars. If you visit Canterbury you must give the King's Head a visit.

Room Tip: I am 6 feet tall and room No 1 has a very low ceiling in the shower/toilet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Kings Head Inn was a lovely place to stay. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was clean and perfect size for an over night stay. There was a lot of thought put into each room with specific instructions on each TV and other information about the hotel. After a long day walking around it was nice to be able to have a cuppa and biscuit. The room as a little noisy being near the road and hot in the afternoon sun but it was still a really comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious as well! It is a good walking distance from the town square however a bit far to walk from Canterbury West Train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as it does get quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronniegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A good, clean, friendly place to stay with a comfy bed and a great freshly cooked full English breakfast. I am short at just under 5ft so I didn't have any issues but my Husband who is less vertically challenged found using the hobbit sized bathroom & shower a bit of a squeeze! Did the job nicely though thank you!

Room Tip: We had room 1 at the back so our room wasn't on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: 204 Wincheap, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head is a beautiful, traditional English inn dating from the 15th Century. We pride ourselves in being a privately owned, free house serving quality ales & food in convivial surroundings. Guests are made to feel at home by our friendly staff & regular bar clientele. We are very proud that so many visitors choose to return again & again, mainly, we think, due to the warm welcome they receive as 'locals', even though they may live hundreds or thousands of miles away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing