We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch with good service”

Posillipo Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #39 of 363 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Childhood friends Enzo Espedito welcome you to a little taste of Napoli with Osteria Posillipo Pizzaria ��� quite likely one of Canterbury���s friendliest restaurants. Decorated in relaxing woods, this light, airy space has the added bonus of being located near the Marlowe Theatre. An in-house wood-fired stone oven is visible from the open-plan kitchen on the ground floor, allowing hungry diners watch their pizzas bubble away the traditional way. Not in the mood for pizza? Traditional Italian favourites are the name of the game here, including fresh, homemade pasta like spaghetti a vongole.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The food was delicious with a great selection available and prompt service. We were made to feel very welcome.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    125
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, nice surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The food in this restaurant was, quite simply, divine. My chicken was so tender and beautifully cooked. The wine list is good and we had an absolutely wonderful evening here. The young waitress was very attentive and, if you can get over the snooty attitude of the head waiter/manager, the whole experience is delightful.

Situated in a lovely part of Canterbury looking out onto an ancient wall this is the perfect place for couples and families alike. Go here if you like your food cooked to perfection. Delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissusWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We really loved everything about this restaurant, from start to finish everything was executed to a very high standard. Although we hadn't made a reservation we were able to get a table on a Saturday night without waiting. The staff were extremely welcoming and tentative. A nice touch was they brought the specials board to your table. The Antipasti for 2 to share was amazing though a little extra bread would have made it complete. For mains we ordered the skate and cod dishes with sauteed potatoes and spinach to share. This was my first experience of skate and it won't be my last. My girlfriend loved her cod with olives and capers. The Tiramasu was a slight disappointment, still very tasty but I have to say the one at the chain Carluccious is better. This one had to much cream for my liking and looked better than it tasted. Service was outstanding throughout and the restaurant had a great vibe. We would both highly recommend this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good basic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Decided to try this restaurant as the specials' board seemed interesting.

The food was well cooked and the service was very good.

The portions are quite big so a starter could easily be shared between two people.

Well worth going to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheclanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing employees, management and food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I love Italian food but I try to avoid going to Italian chains. However, with my husband we decided to try Posillipo on Saturday evening because i has been recommended to us.
As soon as we entered, the staff welcome us and gave us a nice table by the window even though they were almost fully booked.
The wine- The waitress recommended us a bottle of white wine (Fabio Contato Bianco) as we were going to have fish. Well done, Amazing wine.
The food was fairly authentic Italian, I had Linguine Posillipo and my husband had the whole sea bass with green salad from the special board. It was simply delicious!
The service was first class and the complimentary limoncello was a delightful surprise!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Posillipo Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Posillipo Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing