We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a YHA Hostel”
Review of YHA Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

On a recent vacation to the UK, we stayed at 3 different YHAs and found this one to be pretty average. It was about a 15 minute walk from the CBE train station and closer to 25 or 30 to CBW. It was about 15 min walk to the Cathedral area. It is not very close to any pubs, restaurants or other shopping. It was quite clean. As with all other YHAs, it costs extra for towels and WiFi. The lounge area was nice and we liked being able to purchase drinks. Main complaint is that they lock doors in the late morning and do not allow check in until 4pm. There are lockers in the basement that travelers can put their bags in until check in but we still found this to be quite a late hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooreUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is dissapointing to see you found our location inconvenient or unexpected - we are 1 mile from the Centre but the West station is a little further on the other side of town. Reception is open from 3-11pm daily with a day access area with kitchen, tv and bathroom facilities for early arrivals. I am pleased you enjoyed our social space in the evening. We hope to see you again. Happy Travels! Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for YHA Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Though our greeters seemed restrained, perhaps new to the job, the hostel and fellow travelers made me feel welcome and comfortable. Sparkling clean facility following the refurbishment. Roomy communal kitchen. Huge dorm rooms; not cramped like so many other hostels. Lovely, leafy neighborhood within walking distance of the train station and the Canterbury Cathedral. So much value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback - we are proud to provide a good value for money for guests visiting Canterbury. I have shared your impressions with our greeting staff for improvement. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at your hostel last week and enjoyed it very much.
Thank you for a warm welcome, excellent comfort, tasty food and an impeccable service.
All teachers and students were very pleased.
I have already started preparing next year's trip... :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback - this has been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you next year! Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in this YHA with 6 chlidren and my husband for two nights.
We felt very touched by the warm welcome.
The refurbishment impressed us a lot - bright rooms, very clean, nice colours. shower and toilets very modern.
Super service, extremely friendly staff - so near to the city centre...what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Various rooms for different needs - just ask Niki - she will give you an advice!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My rating of the various features of the Canterbury Hostel are below. I would reccomend it to anyone.


• Hostel – Couldn’t be better. Comfortable and clean.
• Bike Shed - Secure
• Breakfast – Sumptuous
• Staff – Nothing short of brilliant

Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_HBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you very much for this feedback. We have worked hard over the winter on our refurbishment and training our new staff team and comments like these make it all worthwhile! Very best wishes, Niki Reynolds, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After cycling all day, it was the perfect location to relax and clean up for a wander into Canterbury for dinner. Great accommodation and would recommend it to all. Breakfast was spot on. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments have been shared with the team and we are very grateful for your feedback. Very best wishes, Niki Reynolds, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a family of five so payed for our own room (6 beds). Everything was just perfect and smelled new. Didn't have time for breakfast but it looked great. Lovely communal lounge with TV. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

I just wanted to say a big thank you for this fantastic feedback, it has been celebrated with our team - thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Very best wishes, Niki Reynolds, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.8 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Canterbury

Address: 54 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range: £24 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic city hostel, located on the main road into Canterbury, so an excellent base to explore the delights of this historical city. With direct high-speed train services into London and the main entry route into/out of the UK to Europe, this really is a great stop over point. YHA Canterbury at a glance: YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas£580k investmentRenovated cafe barRenovated communal areasFully-equipped kitchenSeven rooms with en suites You’ll find the Roman-walled city of Canterbury crammed with history and culture. The accommodation at YHA Canterbury is close to the centre and popular with groups, individuals and school trips alike. Attractions include the cathedral, abbey, museums, guided tours and theatres - great for a cheap city break or weekend away. The hostel is within easy reach of the North Downs Way and Pilgrims Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing