We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Canterbury
Nearby Hotels
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$118
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
72
38
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
38
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelbunk bedsgreat hostel to staycity centreliving abroadtoilet cubicleshared roomcomfy loungeclean tidyenjoyed my stayfifteen minute walkgreat facilitiesbeautiful buildingdover roadstaff were very helpful and friendlyold house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

On a recent vacation to the UK, we stayed at 3 different YHAs and found this one to be pretty average. It was about a 15 minute walk from the CBE train station and closer to 25 or 30 to CBW. It was about 15 min walk to the Cathedral area. It is not very close to any pubs, restaurants or other shopping. It was quite clean. As with all other YHAs, it costs extra for towels and WiFi. The lounge area was nice and we liked being able to purchase drinks. Main complaint is that they lock doors in the late morning and do not allow check in until 4pm. There are lockers in the basement that travelers can put their bags in until check in but we still found this to be quite a late hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooreUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is dissapointing to see you found our location inconvenient or unexpected - we are 1 mile from the Centre but the West station is a little further on the other side of town. Reception is open from 3-11pm daily with a day access area with kitchen, tv and bathroom facilities for early arrivals. I am pleased you enjoyed our social space in the evening. We hope to see you again. Happy Travels! Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Though our greeters seemed restrained, perhaps new to the job, the hostel and fellow travelers made me feel welcome and comfortable. Sparkling clean facility following the refurbishment. Roomy communal kitchen. Huge dorm rooms; not cramped like so many other hostels. Lovely, leafy neighborhood within walking distance of the train station and the Canterbury Cathedral. So much value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback - we are proud to provide a good value for money for guests visiting Canterbury. I have shared your impressions with our greeting staff for improvement. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at your hostel last week and enjoyed it very much.
Thank you for a warm welcome, excellent comfort, tasty food and an impeccable service.
All teachers and students were very pleased.
I have already started preparing next year's trip... :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, General Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback - this has been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you next year! Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in this YHA with 6 chlidren and my husband for two nights.
We felt very touched by the warm welcome.
The refurbishment impressed us a lot - bright rooms, very clean, nice colours. shower and toilets very modern.
Super service, extremely friendly staff - so near to the city centre...what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Various rooms for different needs - just ask Niki - she will give you an advice!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Niki Reynolds - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My rating of the various features of the Canterbury Hostel are below. I would reccomend it to anyone.


• Hostel – Couldn’t be better. Comfortable and clean.
• Bike Shed - Secure
• Breakfast – Sumptuous
• Staff – Nothing short of brilliant

Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_HBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H, Manager at YHA Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you very much for this feedback. We have worked hard over the winter on our refurbishment and training our new staff team and comments like these make it all worthwhile! Very best wishes, Niki Reynolds, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews