We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent B&B in Canterbury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City of Canterbury B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City of Canterbury B&B
Ranked #8 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B in Canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I and some family and friends stayed at the City of Canterbury B&B for our daughter's graduation at Canterbury Cathedral.This is the fourth time we have stayed here. It is an excellent B&B the owners are very welcoming the rooms are spotless and the breakfast is excellent cooked to order. It is well placed for the University of Kent and for the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    37
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
56
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Myself and wife stayed here over the weekend, our first try at a B & B, this place is wonderful,
absolutely immaculately clean and with a wife like mine I really mean this!! You find the dust ?? The breakfast in the morning was also fantastic, the couple running this where helpful, considerate and approachable, when we go back to Canterbury we will be staying here again , thank you ! You can also use the lounge area which has leather sofa's and a tele,the location is 0.7mile away from Canterbury town, a 10 minute down hill stroll straight into the cobble streets and quirky buildings, a sort of Cambridge but probably better. The shops here are a bit artistic and quirky but it also has a H & M and Debenhams for those more common needs. The bars and restaurants are also fantastic, we done a bit of a pub crawl and ended up in a restaurant by the river The old weaver restaurant, this restaurant is fantastic, great food, unbelievable location an absolute must !! All in all the B & B , the place, the food the beers.....SImply Fantastic!!! Thank you again for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Family room with the seperate lounge area is fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-k1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Lovely accommodating hosts, very welcoming. The room was very clean and homely, with a great comfy bed. The area was very close to Canterbury centre, still quiet for a peaceful nights sleep and a delicious breakfast to follow in the morning! Would definitely stay again, we had a splendid stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dommyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton in Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here in September 2012, its a little way out of town, (a fair walk or a few minutes drive), but we found it spotlessly clean, welcoming and very comfortable.
The price charged seems very low for what you get (including a good breakfast) and if I get to return to Canterbury I will be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockers_Down_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Tony & Pauline who run this B&B made me feel very comfortable and part of the 'famiily' from the moment I stepped inside. It is pristine in appearance and my single en-suite room was comfortable and more than adequate. Breakfast was fabulous and they were both very friendly without being intrusive,

Room Tip: My room faced the main road but is double glazed so I wasn't disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent just a night and we enjoyed the b&b. It is clean, comfortable and quite, with execellent breakfast. The rooms have also a wonderful view over the city.
The owners are very kind.
A really good place to stay. It is good value for money.
We reccomended it to everyone who want to visit Canterbury.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gontras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

An absolutely spotless and well cared for guest house, near Kent University and just up the hill from Canterbury city centre. The room was well proportioned and well heated (with thermostatic controls), breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. The owners clearly have high standards and care about the level of service they deliver.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City of Canterbury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City of Canterbury B&B

Property: City of Canterbury B&B
Address: 27 St. Thomas Hill, Canterbury CT2 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City of Canterbury B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City of Canterbury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Of Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
City Of Canterbury Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing