We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay there again.”
Review of The Arthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arthouse
Ranked #25 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Excellent concept. DIY breakfast if you wish - a range of cereals available and various coffees, teas etc. For a small extra payment you can go out for an absolutely first rate breakfast at The Refectory which is a stroll down the road almost next to the city gate. Pleasant room on the front of the house overlooking local streets. Own bathroom down a short corridor. The other room on the same floor also has a bathroom of their own down a flight of stairs. There is a really nice sitting room with tv and dvd player. Also a dining area and kitchen so in the evening you can make your own meal. It's a great location and we were able to come and go from the city centre on foot quite easily. It was ideal for our business trip. Clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jim-In-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a great long weekend in Canterbury staying at this wonderful, stylish place. The Arthouse is furnished and decorated with love and you feel comfy right away. Perfect for groups or families of 4 ppl but also sharing it is not a problem. The place was clean and the welcome warm and friendly. You can have a good breakfast at this nice cafe close to the house and near to the city centre. If you plan a trip to beautiful Canterbury I recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the third time I stay at the Arthouse: very satisfied. Decoration is lovely (the previous owners were both artists). There's a kitchen where you can help yourself to cereals, tea and coffee. Rooms are quiet; the owners live in a separate house. Perfect location for both the city centre and the University of Kent.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a bit quieter than room 1, but has its bathroom on the floor below, while room 1 has its b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Arthouse is a great place to stay, spacious and airy, and it is very close to the local amenities (as well as the train station). It is especially convenient if you are a larger group (4-5 people) and want a shared space, since there is a big living and dining room. There is also a kitchen and it comes with tea, coffee, and cereal. Adelle and Sebastian are very nice and considerate hosts and made sure we had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a one night stay in the Arthouse and thought it was great. The house is quirky and in a great position for the city centre. We were in room 1 which is a good size and the bed was very comfortable! There is a good range of tea, coffee, cereals etc which is a nice touch. The living space that is available is great, especially if you had the house to yourselves or were staying there with friends. I hadn't quite understood that the bathrooms weren't directly en suite but each room has its own designated bathroom so there were no problems - I just wished I'd brought a dressing gown. And unlike other recent reviewers we found the house very warm once we'd turned the thermostat up. We'll definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Noirin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked the B&B after seeing it on Channel 4s Four in a Bed, so we knew that the owners did not live on site etc... It has changed owner since that programme was made.

The B&B is an old building and you have a lounge, dining room and kitchen on one floor with two bedrooms on the floor above. There are two bathrooms neither of which are en suite. The décor throughout is simple and creative and tasteful. The accommodation is comfortable and clean. The kitchen is stocked with cereal, tea, coffee and milk so you can make yourself a basic snack. There are all the kitchen utensils and equipment to cook something if you wanted to.

The B&B is located close to the city centre and is on a moderately busy road. We were given vouchers for the local café for breakfast as part of our stay. The breakfast was amazing - one of the best breakfasts I've ever had!!

The drawbacks of the Art House B&B are:
1. it was very cold when we stayed there and the heating wasn't set up properly. We found the boiler and was able to override the programme and warm up but we'd awoken with the place freezing cold.
2. there are two rooms and neither bathroom is en suite. When we stayed another family with a baby were staying in the other room. This made it a bit strange.... we weren't sure if the bathrooms were assigned to each room. One of the bathrooms is 2 flights of stairs away and quite a long trip when it is chilly.
3. there wasn't a TV. This was not a problem for me, but my husband likes to know the football scores. If you have a sport obsessed husband then you need to take a tablet or radio with you!!

Good points:
1. really good quality cereal and coffee in the stocked kitchen
2. lovely property and very clean
3. nice owners
4. comfortable bed
5. lovely breakfast
6. was nice to have more space than just the bedroom - it was like being in a house swap experience and felt really homely. We popped in and out and used it as a base throughout the day which was really good.

Other points:
1. the property has three stair cases which are a bit steep and may not be suitable for people who have mobility issues (or young children)
2. parking is limited and we parked nearby on the road with no problems

On the whole I would stay here again but only with a friend or family member because of the two rooms and bathroom issue.

Room Tip: The room at the front is bigger but faces a moderately busy road so is noisier. The room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui_Learoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed with a couple of friends so had the place to ourselves. This made it more special. If we had been staying with people we did not know it may have not been as good. Each room has an assigned bathroom I assume, but for one room that means that the bathroom is two floors down. Having the run of the house is great and I would encourage others to go with friends. The arrangements were efficient and contact very good. Breakfast was very good and is a 10minute walk away, which was no problem unless it is raining hard. One minus point was that breakfast did not include drinks which had to be paid for separately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 73 in Canterbury
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthouse

Address: 24 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £53 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A totally different b and b experience. Arthouse is an old fire station, 5 min. walk from Canterbury West station, and 10 mins. to the city centre. Arthouse is a quirky, beautiful and comfortable place to stay, full of art, treasures, and beautiful things. Two bedrooms each with a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Arthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing