We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt at home immediately”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Agnes
Ranked #1 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The House of Agnes was the first stop on our holiday in England. We got a warm welcome by Steve and felt immediately at home. We stayed in the Boston room which was fresh and inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the Kentish breakfast was delicious. The hotel is conveniently located, just a five minute walk from the cathedral. Yes, the entrance to the parking area is very narrow, but we managed to squeeze through without any problems. The hotel is very good value for money and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppinsgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

Like previous reviewers, we were welcomed by very friendly staff and shown to our room despite being nearly two hours earlier than the 3pm check-in. We stayed in the Boston room, which was extremely comfortable and very quiet, overlooking the garden.
One concern had been mentions of very tight car parking but, in fact, it is just the entrance to the car park that is extremely narrow, once you are in there is plenty of space.
The honesty bar is a lovely touch (unfortunately our bill was rather large due to lack of self control!) and the garden is lovely to sit in after walking around the sights of Canterbury. If I had to complain about anything it would be that our cooked breakfasts were not quite what we ordered on both mornings but the staff were extremely busy and this did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay at all. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Terrific little hotel with wonderful staff, thanks Tracey & Alan

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyalanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel as my friend had her wedding there. It was very handy for sight seeing in Canterbury, and did an excellent vegetarian breakfast.
My only complaint would be that the spirits served in the bar were a bit generic, and didn't cater for a younger taste.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

We aim to please here at the House of Agnes so its always great to receive a compliment. The fact that we can also please our vegetarian guests is a real boost to our comfidence! Thank you!

Our Honesty Bar is stocked with an ample selection of local Kentish beers, ciders, wines, soda and juices but in the case of 'Exclusive Use' weddings (as in your case) provisions for the bar are arranged directly with the bride and groom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I spent 2 nights at the "House of Agnes" in Canterbury this week, on a visit to see the city. I discovered it online when I was looking for somewhere to stay close to the city centre, Cathedral, etc. The booking experience was a pleasure, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially as I arrived much later than planned due to electrical storms mucking up the rail network.

The HoA was a 2 minute walk from Canterbury West station. I was warmly welcomed, and shown around the place. Lovely breakfast room, a library/quiet/reading room, a games room and a well stocked "honesty bar" with exceptionally reasonable prices - lovely! To boot, an extensive and beautiful garden, perfect for reading the paper in the morning after breakfast.

My room was the Mumbai room on the top floor - I'd checked it out on the website beforehand, knew it wasn't massive, but ideal for me. It was on the top floor of the property, overlooking a busy main road. The secondary glazing and superb (and unexpected) air-conditioning did their job with aplomb. The room had everything I needed, including a most comfortable bed. Full Freeview digital television, speedy (and free) WiFi and a compact but superb bathroom, with a very powerful shower.

Breakfast was excellent - a selection of yoghurts, cereals and (freshly prepared) fruit salad. This was then exceeded by the locally-sourced and delicious Kentish Breakfast (full English). Service was swift, and the coffee decent and restorative.

Canterbury is a marvellous city, and in my experience this is an ideal place to base yourself for a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulspluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night, joining my sister and her husband. Our room was quite small, but had everything we could want, and was very comfortable. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, and the service was excellent. We especially liked the gardern, the honesty bar ( we had it to ourselves, and, compared with London prices, the bar bill was very small!) and the breakfast. My sister and I are vegetarian, so were very happy with the fruit salad, muffins and yoghurts on offer, whereas my husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast. The hotel is so close to the lovely centre of the town that you can easily walk everywhere, and, since we had come by train, the proximity of the station was a plus. ( We didn't hear any trains during the night!) I would happily return again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonnet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The welcome was great and the rooms were lovely. Everything you could possibly want with lots of extra thoughtful touches. Nothing was too much trouble. Close enough to Canterbury to walk and explore the lovely town, so nice not to have to use the car.

Would highly recommend to family and friends and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmason_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £87 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing