We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definatly Go Back!!”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Lovely place, stayed in the 'Venice Room' it was fab!
My boyfriend took me here for my 30th Birthday and there was a card in the room from the staff at the hotel which was a nice touch. The spa/jacuzzi bath was lovely and open plan into the room - all very romantic!
Breakfast was great and great location to see all in Canterbury, 5min walk into Town!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for House of Agnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

The House of Agnes is the perfect venue for an intimate wedding with its quirky charm and beautiful garden where you can also get married under the pagoda (weather permitting). I got married in the Quadrant Room which has a lovely wood panelled interior at the front of the House of Agnes.
Sandie and her staff were warm and friendly and made the day for myself and our guests very special. Lisa, the wedding planner ensured that things ran smoothly and acted as a make up artist to myself, babysitter to various younger guests whilst the parents ate their meals and generally made everything look pretty. Another added bonus is as part of the wedding package the guests were able to stay in the lovely themed rooms. As the bride I stayed in the Venice room with its huge bed, whirlpool bath and opulent interior with French doors opening out to the garden which was very lovely.
The venue was totally exclusive for the wedding party which made it feel like you were having your wedding in your own beautiful house.
After a throughly enjoyable day, you wake up the next morning and are able to have a good full English breakfast with the guests that stayed and chat over the events of the previous day.

Thank you Sandie, Lisa and the rest of the team for making our day a special and memorable one. xx

Room Tip: The best room for a bride is the Venice room as it feels so special.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights(June 27th to July 1st) and had great time.Our room was Tokyo with air con and double glazing.We needed the air con as the weather was glorious and the double glazing stopped any street noise.We looked at all the rooms during our stay and all are very well appointed,although some on the top floor are a little smaller.The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble.Plenty of parking and lovely garden area.The honesty bar was a pleasant surprise and works very well.Delicious breakfasts too! Thank you to all the staff for making us so welcome..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

We NEVER take positive reviews for granted. We treat each one as if it were the first and are always delighted that our guests appreciate what we have to offer. Customer service is a priority, as is cleanliness and a good breakfast. My intention was to make the House of Agnes a place that is a little bit out of the ordinary and I hope I have succeeded! I wish to say 'Thank you' to all the reviewers who have contributed to our positive ratings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The House of Agnes was the first stop on our holiday in England. We got a warm welcome by Steve and felt immediately at home. We stayed in the Boston room which was fresh and inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the Kentish breakfast was delicious. The hotel is conveniently located, just a five minute walk from the cathedral. Yes, the entrance to the parking area is very narrow, but we managed to squeeze through without any problems. The hotel is very good value for money and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppinsgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Like previous reviewers, we were welcomed by very friendly staff and shown to our room despite being nearly two hours earlier than the 3pm check-in. We stayed in the Boston room, which was extremely comfortable and very quiet, overlooking the garden.
One concern had been mentions of very tight car parking but, in fact, it is just the entrance to the car park that is extremely narrow, once you are in there is plenty of space.
The honesty bar is a lovely touch (unfortunately our bill was rather large due to lack of self control!) and the garden is lovely to sit in after walking around the sights of Canterbury. If I had to complain about anything it would be that our cooked breakfasts were not quite what we ordered on both mornings but the staff were extremely busy and this did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay at all. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Terrific little hotel with wonderful staff, thanks Tracey & Alan

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyalanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel as my friend had her wedding there. It was very handy for sight seeing in Canterbury, and did an excellent vegetarian breakfast.
My only complaint would be that the spirits served in the bar were a bit generic, and didn't cater for a younger taste.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

We aim to please here at the House of Agnes so its always great to receive a compliment. The fact that we can also please our vegetarian guests is a real boost to our comfidence! Thank you!

Our Honesty Bar is stocked with an ample selection of local Kentish beers, ciders, wines, soda and juices but in the case of 'Exclusive Use' weddings (as in your case) provisions for the bar are arranged directly with the bride and groom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £85 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing