We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, well recommended but getting bigger than a B&B...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Agnes

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place, well recommended but getting bigger than a B&B...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at House of Agnes for one Friday night in June. Drove down from Surrey and found the place no problem, parking area is great and lovely first impression as it is round the back near the garden.

We chose the Venice room which I would definitely recommend, has an open plan jacuzzi bath which was great and double doors which down some steps into the garden area. Room was very comfortable and nicely decorated and the location is great, 5 minutes into downtown Canterbury.

There is a nice honesty bar where we sampled some local cider in the evening and other nice touches were free wifi and ice bucket and ice. Breakfast the next morning was also very good.

Some why not 5 stars - I am not sure I would classify House of Agnes as a B&B - it has rooms in the main house and also some outside rooms in a separate build area - as a result there are a lot of guests and you lose that B&B feel - it was more like a small hotel and although staff were friendly I don't think any of them knew our names which is different to other boutique B&B's we have stayed in.

Overall though well recommended but I think is maybe the victim of it's success on Tripadvisor!

Canterbury was great - recommend the Cathedral and park by the citygate.

Room Tip: Venice room quiet and very nice bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKSONJE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    131
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
509
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We went to Canterbury for our daughters graduation ceremony and we were made so welcome by Natasha at the House of Agnes. I booked 2 rooms; the Marrakesh suite which has a room with a double bed and en-suite and another separate room off it with a single bed and en-suite and the Mumbai room. Our rooms were comfortable, quirky, cosy and lovely. All of the staff were very friendly and the honesty bar, which we did make use of, is such a great idea. For breakfast there is a choice of juices, yogurts, cereal and fresh fruit salad to start followed by a lovely cooked breakfast. All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manni1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My father and I arrived at House of Agnes last Thursday at 11.30 at night with nowhere to stay, our original B&B having given our room away. They were, like most places in Canterbury during the Open fully booked, but instead of turning us away they took it upon themselves to solve our problem. They rang every B&B in Canterbury to find us a room but there was nothing doing. So then they had the idea to set us up on folding beds in their library and spent the next hour when they would normally have been at home running around making our stay as comfortable as possible. They even organised for us to use one of the departed guest's rooms for a shower in the morning. The people that run this place clearly enjoy what they do and just want their guests to have a great stay. All the other guests we met waxed lyrical about the place too. If you're staying in Canterbury this has to be your first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Aaaw shucks! What a lovely review...thank you ! I could never have turned my back on these two forlorn gentlemen. They needed a bed and I was determined to make sure they had one...it was a bit like a pajama party since we had a house full of golfer for the British Open as well! Our priority is to make guests welcome even if they land on the doorstep by way of misfortune. My assistant manager Steven and I were happy to be of assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have spent several short breaks here whilst our daughter was at the University of Kent and recommend it to everyone. It is a very short walk into Canterbury and on the right side of the city for the university. The staff are polite and welcoming, the beds are outstandingly comfortable and the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minzibah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Lovely place, stayed in the 'Venice Room' it was fab!
My boyfriend took me here for my 30th Birthday and there was a card in the room from the staff at the hotel which was a nice touch. The spa/jacuzzi bath was lovely and open plan into the room - all very romantic!
Breakfast was great and great location to see all in Canterbury, 5min walk into Town!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The House of Agnes is the perfect venue for an intimate wedding with its quirky charm and beautiful garden where you can also get married under the pagoda (weather permitting). I got married in the Quadrant Room which has a lovely wood panelled interior at the front of the House of Agnes.
Sandie and her staff were warm and friendly and made the day for myself and our guests very special. Lisa, the wedding planner ensured that things ran smoothly and acted as a make up artist to myself, babysitter to various younger guests whilst the parents ate their meals and generally made everything look pretty. Another added bonus is as part of the wedding package the guests were able to stay in the lovely themed rooms. As the bride I stayed in the Venice room with its huge bed, whirlpool bath and opulent interior with French doors opening out to the garden which was very lovely.
The venue was totally exclusive for the wedding party which made it feel like you were having your wedding in your own beautiful house.
After a throughly enjoyable day, you wake up the next morning and are able to have a good full English breakfast with the guests that stayed and chat over the events of the previous day.

Thank you Sandie, Lisa and the rest of the team for making our day a special and memorable one. xx

Room Tip: The best room for a bride is the Venice room as it feels so special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights(June 27th to July 1st) and had great time.Our room was Tokyo with air con and double glazing.We needed the air con as the weather was glorious and the double glazing stopped any street noise.We looked at all the rooms during our stay and all are very well appointed,although some on the top floor are a little smaller.The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble.Plenty of parking and lovely garden area.The honesty bar was a pleasant surprise and works very well.Delicious breakfasts too! Thank you to all the staff for making us so welcome..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOAgnes, Owner at House of Agnes, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
We NEVER take positive reviews for granted. We treat each one as if it were the first and are always delighted that our guests appreciate what we have to offer. Customer service is a priority, as is cleanliness and a good breakfast. My intention was to make the House of Agnes a place that is a little bit out of the ordinary and I hope I have succeeded! I wish to say 'Thank you' to all the reviewers who have contributed to our positive ratings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing