We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of Agnes
Ranked #1 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have visited the House of Agnes six times now and find it a great place to stay in Canterbury. It is in a great location with a lovely garden at the rear.Plenty of parking is available and once you have parked your car there is no need to use it again as everything is within walking distance. There is a huge range of cracking restaurants on the doorstep and some good Kentish pubs too. The House of Agnes is always spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable with everything you need. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the rooms which you don't get everywhere these days.
We have stayed in the main hotel but prefer the garden rooms for their modern comforts like under floor heating in the bathrooms.
Breakfast is always good with lovely sausages from the butcher opposite. There is plenty of coffee and toast available as well as a large range of continental breakfast alternatives.
Well done The House of Agnes for maintaining your high standards and making each stay we have had a relaxing and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the main house a long time ago and had a great time but this time all of the main rooms were booked so we stayed in one of the stable rooms.

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the centre of town and in a beautiful location. It is right next to the train line but the trains didn't disturb us too much.

The room was a good size with all the amenities you might want but just didn't have the character to match the rooms in the main house and the walls felt quite thin (but to fair we stayed on a very stormy night).

Breakfast had the potential to be great but was just a little disappointing and not overly generous.

We would consider going back but would make sure to book a room in the main house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The House of Agnes has every thing you could want, character, location and excellent service. We had the Marakesh room which is really a suite as you have a second room with large television and day bed. You also have a private patio overlooking the garden.
The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. There is a courtesy bar which is a great idea but which we didn't use as we were eating out (at Chapmans down the street, which gives a discount for those staying at the House of Agnes).
The breakfast was good and sevice efficently with a smile!!
The only grumble isn't really a grumble but the passage to get to the car park is very tight .... Although this not a suprise with regards to the age of the building.

We will definately be back!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Building and character rooms are stunning. We couldn't have found a nicer place to stay on Canterbury. Overall perfect stay, wished we'd have stayed longer. Made to feel very welcome and staff were lovely.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 164Bluebell94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have just spent two nights at the House of Agnes with 5 other couples. We all had rooms in the stable block. The rooms were modern, clean and very spacious with under floor heating in the bathroom. Be aware the railway line does run behind the block and although we heard the occasional train it caused us no problems. The staff were very friendly and we were shown all the hotels facilities on the way to our room. There is an honesty bar which is very reasonably priced and the Kentish breakfast was excellent, there is also a daily special for breakfast. The B&B is within a 10 minute walk of the centre of Canterbury. Take care when arriving as the entrance is very narrow (see their website for details).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1st Feb 2014 and we're really well looked after and made to feel extremely welcome. We stayed in a stable room which was very comfortable and well equipped. When the occasion arises again and we need to stay in Canterbury, the House of Agnes is where we will be staying. EXCELLENT!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really impressed, location very central, rooms really good, service excellent (really good greeting) and bonus of parking (although very tight entrance). Think breakfast could have been a tad better, which was not helped by serving not a lot on a very big plate, so you felt you where being short changed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 74 in Canterbury
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £86 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing