We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little jewel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was my home for a few weeks of working in Canterbury and it was like being on holiday. I stayed in Tokyo, Paris, Venice, Mumbai and Stable 1. Each was spotlessly clean, beautifully designed and comfortable. Sandie is a kind, witty and well-informed host and her team are cheerful and obliging. The lovely Cathedral is just a few minutes' walk and there are lovely runs along the river or 20 minutes away on the front at Whitstable. I mustn't forget to mention; the breakfasts are the best and sitting in the garden on a sunny afternoon working with a glass of wine from the honesty bar, watching the blossom falling is pretty acceptable on a work night too.

Room Tip: Paris is best with a free-standing bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC-Grubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    139
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
99
536
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here, delighted to come back. Just feels really classy, quiet despite being on a road, warm welcome and efficient staff. Rooms are all individual with lots of fashionable touches.
Delicious breakfast.
Quite expensive for a b&b but worth it

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here last weekend, having never been to Canterbury before. Found the place via recommendations on Trip Advisor.

Room.
Stable Room A was beautiful. Very clean and had everything you need. The bed was very comfortable and it was lovely to have our own tea making facilities.

Service.
The owner was wonderful - attentive without being overbearing. The waiter on Sunday's breakfast service (6th April) was equally attentive and helpful.

Breakfast.
This was the highlight - absolutely delicious. The ingredients were very fresh and it pays off. Portion sizes perfect (who wants an overloaded plate?)

Location.
It is a great, central location in Canterbury - couldn't be better.

Facilities.
The honesty bar is great - a refreshing concept. We loved sitting in the lounge area in the evening, reading, listening to the nice music - having these facilities was wonderful.

I can't think of any faults

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were extremely impressed by this wonderful B&B which provides far more than one would ever expect. Great position within walking distance of the many delights of Canterbury. Wacky and comfortable sitting areas in the main house. Great honesty bar. Interesting and well-cooked breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Room (in converted stable block) and bathroom very well laid out; the large bed was particularly comfortable. Only slight issue was the fact that the room was not well sound-proofed from the neighbouring bedroom (there was a locked adjoining door). It was not that our neighbours were particularly noisy but we could hear their talking, coughing, etc and assume they could hear ours. Despite this, House of Agnes ranks as one of the very best B&Bs we have stayed in anywhere and we would very much like to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at House of Agnes for one night and will definitely be returning in the summer with some friends.

- Excellent service: the owner is superfriendly and provides you with sufficient information, she takes the time to get to know her guests and their wishes.
- Breakfast: Delicious! Some of the best sage sausages and bacon I have eaten in the UK.
- Outside area: Very spacious and well-maintained.
- Rooms: Spacious and very clean.

We stayed in a stable room and did not know there was a train passing by only a few meters away, still, it was rather quiet there.

One negative aspect: no blinds/curtains in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Form the friendly greeting on booking in to checkout the House of Agnes does not disappoint. This ancient building is quirkily decorated, comfortably furnished & goes that extra mile to make you feel special & your stay all the more comfortable. The delicious breakfast has plenty of variety and the hot food is well cooked well, tasty & sourced locally - the butchers sausages were especially delicious! The self service honesty bar is also an special addition. With free parking and very short walking distance to the centre of Canterbury it certainly ticked all our boxes & we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 77Nigel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

If you want olde world and close to city centre you can't do better than House of Agnes. Our room in the original house looked very appealing, four poster beds look attractive but ours was a bit small and none to comfortable. The bathroom was very small and intimate. The breakfast was excellent and a good choice including a special of the day. Given location and ability to park would choose again providing a better bed and bathroom were available.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelneh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing