We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from a three day stay at the House of Agnes and can honestly say we had a great time. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms spotlessly clean and most surprising of all is the large and peaceful garden tucked away behind. Our room was Venice which was lovely with a Jacuzzi bath in the room and French doors leading into the garden.
Parking is a little tricky, especially navigating the narrow archway but there appeared to be room for all the guests.
There are nice touches like luxurious bath towels and flannels, thick toilet paper and up market toiletries.
The honesty bar is wonderful - you help yourself and just write down what you have taken, they add it to your bill at the end of your stay.
There are DVD players in the rooms and a small library of DVDs to chose from .
Breakfast is good with a selection of cereals and choice of cooked food with locally sourced sausages and bacon
The B&B is located just outside the west gate and is within easy walking distance of Canterbury attractions, restaurants and pubs.
All in all an excellent B&B and a great find

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quitter than those at the front
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyMark56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
There are newer reviews for House of Agnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

My room in the main house was very comfortable and well equipped. Bathroom a little small but again well supplied with good shampoo etc. Public spaces and gardens a big plus. Breakfast was very good indeed and ingredients of a high quality. Elegantly presented. Portion was not massive but more than enough. Reception staff very helpful and polite. I would very much like to stay here again. Value for money was good.

Room Tip: Select your room carefully as all rooms in main building are unique.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A perfect setting in Canterbury with lovely touches to make you feel at home and want to come back. The honesty bar and the DVD library is an adult way to treat guest. The bed was not too soft and breakfast plentiful. We will return.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank pne1pne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Love this quaint B&B and the feeling of history. Not weighed down by age, there are some fun furnishings located around and about. The gear clock, the glowing electric chair (must see it at night), wifi (not always great but it was free), honor bar, silver gilt throne chair all fit in funkaly with the exposed beams, brick walls and crooked stair case. I can't believe they even fit in bathrooms in the rooms. True the shower in my room, the Mumbai was tiny but this building is FIVE HUNDRED years old, the is not a lot of wiggle room available.
Nice touches in the room a plenty, tea service, cookies, water bottles, heated towel rack.

If you have large heavy luggage, bad knees or can't climb stairs don't stay on the top floor. I love the leaning staircase that magically leveled out after a trip to the local pub. Also watch your head, the ceilings up stairs can be a hazard for us modern giants.

Breakfast was tasty. Fresh local products that started the day off with a cheer.

Walking distance to everywhere, the train station, the west gate into the walled city and of course the reason everyone goes to Canterbury - the Canterbury Tales exhibit, oh and of course the cathedral.

Stay here if you want to be a stay in a real piece history and a non standard hotel that you will remember. If you want a large soaking tub, a sink that will float a yacht, a bed the size of a 747 and impersonal staff then find the nearest chain hotel.

Oh and for the record, never heard or saw any ghosts. I am sure they must have been on holiday.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask to stay downstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol232b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stable block room was clean, roomy and well equipped. Breakfast was good, apart from the tea. Staff very helpful and friendly. Furnishings in dining room different! Easy walk to the heart of Canterbury. Only downside was that the train line was nearer to the rooms than we had expected and although the trains stop around 11pm they start again at 6am and some people might be disturbed by the rumble as they pass, despite the measures taken to try and soundproof the rooms. Useful to have on-site parking though we had to pull our mirrors in when going through the entrance.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the website and choose what suits you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed one night in the stable annexe and found it highly satisfactory. Friendly and efficient welcome, slept soundly before delicious breakfast. Bonus was being a few steps away from excellent fish restaurant Chapmans.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in March as we were attending a wedding in the local area. It is a beautiful old building within a few hundred yards of the City centre, the Cathedral and train station with off-street parking. All the bedrooms are themed and tastefully decorated, we stayed in the Marrakesh Suit which had its own entrance and a patio accessed from the surprisingly large rear gardens. We were made most welcome by the friendly and attentive staff. My Wife and several other members of the wedding party were in need of some last minute bits and pieces eg; nail varnish etc and the young lady at the reception desk came immediately to the rescue offering all the things required and more from her own assortment, she was amazing. The rooms and communal areas were spotless, the breakfast choices excellent and in all the stay was one of the most enjoyable we have had and look forward to returning one day. I cannot praise this establishment enough, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £84 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing