We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This boutique Hotel is as charming, friendly and beautifully presented as its marvellous manager Sandie de Rougemont.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House of Agnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Agnes
Ranked #2 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This boutique Hotel is as charming, friendly and beautifully presented as its marvellous manager Sandie de Rougemont.”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Impeccable service and excellent high standards were the order of our stay in this lovingly laid out, luxury boutique Hotel. Sandie is a gem; as wonderful a hostess as you are likely to meet and she made this the most fabulous holiday we've enjoyed in the UK to date. We unreservedly recommend this funky and friendly establishment to anyone who values the best of British.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    132
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
509
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My stay at House of Agnes was just perfect!

I stayed one night on my bicycle tour and was very pleased by the friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks goes to Lisa who helped me finding a bicycle shop last minute before closing time :-).
The room was just great! I felt like the Prince of Wales in this stylishly furnished room!

I will certainly stay again at House of Agnes, the next time I come to Canterbury!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My wife and I stayed one night here and luckily thats all we did. Our expereince doesnt sound remotely similar to most of the reviews. The hotels location is the biggest problem. Its located just outside the city center on a main road. Its right next door to a pub and on the other side you have a train crossing. We are not sure what time the pub closes during the week but the drunken noise stopped some where between one and two in morning. The cars driving over the railway lines and the level crossing add to the sleeping joy. The room is not very soundproofed as you could still hear it all clearly with the windows closed. The building is really old so i do understand due to the heritage nature you can only do so much to try to keep the noise out. The room looked nice due to the theme (Cantebury Room) but the bed was on quite a tilt makeing your head lower than your feet. The staff although present didnt go out of their way to help or provide information which i believe in a b&b / boutique hotel is part of the buisness. Breakfast was solid but after only a few hours of sleep wasnt anything special that i can remember. All these things make it a expensive option for very little return. At 95 pounds save your money and try somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. We have stayed in the Abode, 4 star hotel before and this one 'knocks the spots' off it! Staff very helpfull and friendly. Beautiful quirky rooms (make sure you get a superior room). Location good. food very good. The honesty bar was a nice touch. Will be going back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undercover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed here over new year and it was simply perfect. A beautiful in an excellent location and only a short walk from the equally as excellent Goods Shed. We only planned to stay for 2 nights, but had such an excellent time we had to stay for another night. We stayed in the Tokyo and it was just great, really clean and excellent furnishing. Breakfast was excellent too! And the staff were really friendly, event going to the trouble of setting us a table for our Chinese takeaway! One of the best places I've stayed - and would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmoore1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week at House of Agnes and it was truly a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Tokyo Room which was very comfortable. The room is dominated by these amazing large windows so if you are sensitive to light while you sleep make sure you wear an eye mask (you can't close the curtains all the way due to the AC). Otherwise the room was great.

What was most amazing about our stay though was the staff. House of Agnes employs some of the nicest most helpful staff I've ever met at a hotel/B&B. The breakfast each morning was just fabulous and the Honesty Bar was a lot of fun. It was great to come back from our day trips into London and know that we could just chill out in the front room with a cold cider from the Honesty Bar. I felt so at home I even walked around barefoot inside!

Definitely recommend House of Agnes to anyone looking to stay in a very well-preserved historical building. Great staff, great service. We are very pleased with our choice!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UberManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The room was a very effective Vencian theme with luxurious furnishings and a plush bathing/jacuzzi area. Staff were freindly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely (full "Kentish")
and the sausages were the best we have ever tasted! The rasperry jam also deserves a mention as it is made by the owners dad and was fab.
Thanks for a wonderful relaxing stay, we will have to come again.
Val & Pete.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteR190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
1,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Agnes

Property: House of Agnes
Address: 71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original 15th-century character has been respected and enhanced in this beautiful accommodation. Guests can choose between themed rooms in the main house or modern rooms in the Stable Annexe, each with an abundance of thoughtful extras. Delightfully helpful service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a heritage garden add to the appeal of this historically significant property, mentioned in Charles Dickens 'David Copperfield,' which is a short stroll from the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Agnes Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing