We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An thoroughly enjoyable trip for everyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Historic River Tours

Canterbury Historic River Tours
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Canterbury Historic River Tours provides a truly entertaining experience for its visitors, and is a perfect tour for all age groups. The tour & ferry service combines a light hearted enjoyable commentary whilst also discovering some of Canterbury's finest architecture set against outstanding views of natural scenery. The tour & ferry service has been recognised for its excellence and in 2013 was rated as "Outstanding with excellent staff" by Visit England and in 2014 was awarded their top national accolade of "Best Told Story". In 2015 the company was also a finalist in the National Group Travel Awards, voted by the readers of GTO Magazine and once again nominated by Visit England for their top tour accolade of "Best Told Story". Finally, 2015 saw the company win Bronze in the finals of the Beautiful South Awards in the category of 'Tourism Experience of the Year'.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hogwarts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An thoroughly enjoyable trip for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our insightful river tour into Canterbury's history with Captain Alex was very much the highlight of my day (even with his jokes). It was the perfect day to enjoy the little sights along the river stour! A highly reccomended activity

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank raina_halliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    301
    52
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant way to spend a bit of time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife took this tour, and she liked it enough to insist that I accompany her again. it was very relaxing and informative. We had some time to kill, and this was a very good use of it. Our guide was great, pointing out historical buildings and events that occurred there, and when asked he also pointed me toward three of his favorite pubs (which turned out to be excellent choices). My wife enjoyed the tour so much that she signed up for a longer one leaving at the other end of town (on a day when I was working). Not exactly a don't-miss attraction, but everyone on board had a very pleasant time and learned some history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Different View of Canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Captain John was very entertaining and knowledgeable as he rowed us along the Stour River. It was an interesting and different view of Canterbury than that seen from the street. Very pretty scenery. It was very enjoyable and recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DarylOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable if a bit brief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The river tour is interesting, entertaining and lively. Our guide Tom was amusing and well informed.
So it is well worth doing, but be aware that the tour goes about 80 metres one way and then back past the start and about 80 metres the other. The guide packed in plenty of information, but it's not a long voyage.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our boat trip today with Captain Tarquin at the helm. Interesting, informative, amusing and very personable, he made our trip very enjoyable and we would recommend this highly. Thank you captain Tarquin, good days work!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CLR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Historic River Tours also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Historic River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing