We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap cafe in centre of Canterbury”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cheap cafe in centre of Canterbury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Pleasant, friendly, cheap cafe in the heart of Canterbury. If you need a quick cheap snack then this is the place for you. Burgers, chips, breakfasts it is all there. Good value for money. Very pleasant staff. Quick and efficient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephendeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simple clean restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Situated in the main street in Canterbury next to the Methodist Church and near the Westgate Tower, it provides excellent value for money.

The menu is fairly simple but provides a good meal at a reasonable price.

The staff are pleasant and the service very good

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, UK
Level Contributor
262 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nothing special but a pleasant cafe all the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I've visited quite a few establishments in the Poppins Chain - indeed I remember my first visit to Poppins in Bath about 25 years ago as a child!

The cafe is by no means a "destination" venue, but if you want a simple quick meal at a reasonable price then it fits the bill. Obviously the menu is geared towards the "Brunch or Burger" style but the food does taste good. There are lighter bites such as jacket potatoes and salad offered as well.

Staff are friendly and welcoming and the atmopshere in the small dining area is pleasant enough as well.

I'd certainly pay a visit in future (indeed this is my 3rd visit)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frontera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch,......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I visit this clean upper grade cafe, for an early special breakfast,
On a irregular basis, I cannot fault this one.
Opens around 9am.
8 or 8.30 am would be better during peak season.!.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing