We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, great place to stay”

St Johns Court Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Johns Court Guest House
Ranked #50 of 72 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Despite some concern about certain reviews (porridge?!) my friend and I had the most lovely stay here. We had a lovely big room for us and could see the catherdral out of the window! The owner was very helpful and her wit made us smile. Location cannot be faulted and with parking included its a fabulous bonus. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to help ourselves to all sorts of teas and coffees throughout the day. Thoroughly recommend and will certainly be back if fortunate to visit the city again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

On arrival at the B&B, we made the mistake of entering via the courtyard that led to Mrs Rowe's own bungalow. She then gave us a severe telling off for not having the common sense to find out the official B&B entrance (not indicated by sign because there are students in town...) and she went on to lecture us about all the previous guest who had made the same mistake (not seeing the irony). It was very unleasant to arrive to a telling off.

We were made to feel like told off school children. But it didn't surprise us, as when we called to make the booking she had come across as quite controlling and unfriendly. I managed to find a space in her lecture to comment on how unwelcoming it was to arrive and to be told off and that as paying guests we expect to be made a little more welcome then that. She went on to snap, "well you can take your money and stay elsewhere if you want!" We would have if not the whole town had been sold out.

This was followed by a lengthy defence (delivered in the rattling pace of someone who needs to simply go through the motions uninterested in her listeners) as to why she has been so startled by our arrival at her personal back door. Canterbury was apparently full of drunken rogues, including a hobo she went on to describe, who had dared to take a kip outside her front door and disturb her precious peace. Clearly the cozy town is besieged by a dark side.

The lecture went on as we were giddly led round the b&b at the speed of lightening and explained so many rules in such a harsh tone it was hard to take it all in and we were grateful when we were finally able to close our door on her. She came across as a resentful, ungracious, argumentative B&B-owner who would rather not have to accept strangers into her house.

Our room was pleasant enough apart from the tacky ornaments and the fact that you had to move the TV to access the mirror. The shared shower and bathroom were not very inviting. The shampoos were the cheapest bottles she could find from Poundland and smelt like toilet cleaner and the water pressure in the shower was pretty weak. Still the price was good and as long as you can avoid the owner it will do for a cheap visit. The place could certainly have been run successfully by some other cheerful owner.

Room Tip: Top floor is good, feels more private and has a glimpse of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rune H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

this hotel was very good,nice rooms nice breakfast,,landlady will have no messing, and keeps a good hotel,right in the heart of canterbury,will defo stay again

Room Tip: top location,top breakfast,will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were a family of four visiting Britain. We thought we had two rooms booked (through Canterbury tourism board). Arriving late in afternoon we found out we didn't have a reservation. The B&B kindly called around for us and we ended up staying at St. John's Court Guest House. Liz is very adamant about rules and safety but we appreciated it very much. She is very chatty and helpful if you need information about Canterbury (sites to see, restaurants, etc). She also gave us brochures and maps of the area. Her breakfasts are very good and you have a choice of different dishes. She also accomodated our older daughter who at first didn't want to share a bathroom. Liz gave us two rooms; one that had a small bathroom in it. We were quite lucky that Liz was able to take us in on late notice and it turned out that her rooms were less expensive than our original B&B! Thank you again for a wonderful stay in Canterbury!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154913Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Visiting this very welcome bed and breakfast is an experience that just matches your thoughts about visiting England. Mrs. Rowe is so very friendly, the rooms are really making you feel at home. Recently built bathrooms make your stay complete, not mentioned the ample breakfast, made to your wishes.

We definitly recommend this place to stay in the heart of Canterbury.

Thank you, Mrs. Rowe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bromboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Liz and her daughter Jess were very helpful. Liz kindly helped to get the wrinkles out of my dress and my husband's dress shirt by using her dryer. Our room was large, and the shared bathrooms/showers were clean. The location was excellent, a few minutes walk to the sights in Canterbury, so we could leave our car in the private parking area and walk around the city center.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at St John's Court for nine nights in July 201, with Mrs Rowe (Liz) as our hostess. She did everything possible to make us feel so incredibly welcome and was so very helpful and informative - giving us great ideas as to how we could best explore the Kent area. St John's is absolutely spotless and Mrs Rowe's breakfasts were to die for (especially the fantastic mushrooms). There were twelve cereals to choose from (and porridge was definitely available if anyone wanted it!), and the cooked breakfasts were awesome too. St John's is very central to attractions, bus and train stations (we used public transport and found it a great location to start from). We would highly recommend it to anyone, and feel envious of those who have the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
767 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
3.5 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
205 reviews
7.2 mi away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns Court Guest House

Address: St. Johns Lane, Canterbury CT1 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing