We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious tea”
Review of Tiny Tim's Tearoom

Tiny Tim's Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We have now served over 750,000 customers in our eight years of business! That's over three quarters of a million! The reviews below represent far less than 1% of our visitors. We hope to see you soon so you may decide for yourself! Quintessential English tearoom set in an historic 400 year old haunted building beautifully decorated with 1930's inspired settings and chandeliers. A quiet luxurious oasis in the heart of bustling Canterbury. We do not take bookings, so just turn up and we will accommodate you. Please be aware that last admission is usually 15-20 minutes before closing.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious tea”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely welcome and seated downstairs near the window. Pleasant classical background music. Delicious fruit scones and muffin with jam and butter, tea and Latte. Will definitely visit again when in Canterbury.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redrum293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    204
    75
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High Tea for 2 (and a dog!)”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The afternoon tea was a lovely treat (£16 per person). Tea, Poached eggs on crumpets, scone with cream and jam, and 3 taster cake samples to finish.

The staff were lovely and very accommodating. We were with our dog but they let us go through into the cute patio garden and provided our rather hot pooch with bowls of water.

Note: It was worth the steep stair climb to the toilets (although it was incredibly warm because of the kitchens) to see the history of the building.

We left feeling full and happy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DellHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Goog Old Fashioned Cream tea”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I were in Canterbury for a week and visited Tiny Tim's twice. On each occasion we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the food was really enjoyable, especially my cream tea, which was just the way it should be! The ambience was also very pleasant and there is a small garden at the rear, which was lovely on a nice, sunny afternoon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWrightBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godalming
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned tea shop”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the moment we walked in the door, the service was great , even asked if we wanted the music turning down as it could be loud at the table we were sat at. Food and drinks were all excellent. We didn't have any cakes or scones, but they look rather delicious and they were being sold, well like "hot cakes".
Would definitely return (well nearly did on the way back to the car after the day out, was only stopped by the lack of time left at the carpark)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeaton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sorry did not like this tea shop cake stale staff flustered when complained "..".".....".............

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsangryRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiny Tim's Tearoom also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Tiny Tim's Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing