We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Ranked #30 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The service in this hotel is piss poor, no attention, had to search a member staff out for breakfast, who was then not interested in serving me or providing any help whatsoever.

We ate in the bar the previous evening, the food was very average for the price and arrived ten minutes apart, not ideal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gram67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are sorry that your recent visit to Innkeepers Lodge Canterbury was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
53
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London.England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Husband and I spent 2 nights here and were made to feel very welcome. The person checking us in helped carry our bags to the room which was no.7 very quiet. The Continental breakfast was plenty and offered cereals, muffins, yoghurts, toast and if you requested and paid a little extra you could have a full English breakfast. We had lunch also and that was superb, reasonable and plenty of choice. We definitely recommend this Inn Keepers Lodge and it was good to have the breakfast in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back unless it is a Sunday when the road is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate, Innkeepers Lodge Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A comfortable nights sleep in a decent sized room, with pleasant staff. However, the shower took an age to heat up and was little more than a trickle. I think the room's kettle or water gave a bad taste to the tea and coffee making facilities. The continental breakfast was pretty much, just cereal and toast, the milk and juice provided was a little warm, but the coffee was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Old Gate, Innkeeper's Lodge, Canterbury .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Six friends spent New Years Eve at The Gate Inn Canterbury, there should have been eight but unfortunately one couple were ill, as they cancelled that morning they were not charged for their room or the New Years Eve Dinner. We felt this was exceptionally good. We had a very jolly evening made even more enjoyable by the friendly staff both on our arrival in the afternoon during the evening and again the following morning at breakfast. Nick stood out as exceptional, we have been back since for supper with the couple who had to cry off and were equally as pleased. The rooms were small but very clean with tea coffee, two very comfortable beds and TV.

Room Tip: I believe we had rooms 6,7 and 9 two overlooking the back and one at the front but I couldn't sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Visited the old gate inn last month.It started off well room very clean, plenty of tea and coffee, and a nice tv that worked well, but if it was a peaceful break you wanted avoid room 3 ! very noisy. Room at the front of hotel on a main road with a window stuck open and although it was single glazed it made no difference. The bar and restaurant was below this room was noisy and closed at 11.30pm and noise continued as staffroom was next door room 3. Loud voices , slamming of doors endlessly. Staff quarters above with more loud voices and music till very late.We complained and it did improve slightly we couldn't be moved to another room as was fully booked. There are only 2 rooms in this part of hotel so should have been quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Room was good, as was the bathroom. Access was good, once I realised that the Innkeeper's Lodge was the Gate Inn. The continental breakfast was mixed - good coffee, good fruit juice and a good range of cereals. However the bread muffins were mostly mouldy, the margarine was acid and the runny honey had congealed. The croissants were also rather leaden. Napkins seemed to have run out. If the breakfast had been better the £75 would have seemed quite good value. Nobody around except a very pleasant but clearly not very experienced waitress to complain to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Although travelling as a couple we stayed for three nights in the family room which was lovely and spacious however as noted in an earlier review the hot water seemed to take an age to get to the shower, the plug in the sink did work although a sign on how to use it may be helpful.
The biggest fault was that the toilet flush was not working properly and although it was mentioned each morning it had still not been repaired when we left.
We too noticed that the garden area was full of uncollected glasses and dirty dishes, not unnoticed by the local cat and a seagull.
The first morning the breakfast bar was lacking in clean plates, cups, napkins, brown bread and marmalade. Guests had to keep asking for things and the whole area looked like it needed a clean and tidy up, but by day three this had improved, maybe down to individual staff members?
Minor faults but the sort that make or mar an overall impression. Having said that we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Old Gate, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
2.8 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#19 of 75 in Canterbury
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 75 in Canterbury
508 reviews
2.6 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#10 of 75 in Canterbury
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing