We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Stephens Guest House
Ranked #18 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new malden surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

have just spoent 2 nights here, perhaps my only advice is to be really hungry when you go to breakfast!

Our room was good, with a very comfortable bed and nice ensuite, loved the toiletries just wish I had been taller as I ony just reached the towel rack - but gthat is a conmment not a critisicm.

Loved the seets i the garden, sunnor shade,m you choose but an added bonus,

NOr far to city and found the 'guide' useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmaldenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have been coming up to Canterbury on and off for the past four years while our son has been at the University of Kent. We had a few hit and misses trying out different accommodation in Canterbury when we first visited but went back to this B&B which happened to be the one my son stayed in when he went to the first Uni Open Day. It is very convenient to the University and a short walk into the City. The ownership has changed since we first visited and I think most if not all of the rooms have now been refurbished to a pleasing standard and were very clean. The rooms are not overly big but the bed was comfortable and we weren't aware of any traffic noise. WiFi was available on request. Car Parking has never been a problem which is a bonus in Canterbury. Would recommend for value and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keele, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here for one night on a working trip to the university. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was superb! I didn't have time to try the WiFi which is provided, but expect to be back next year, so may do so then. It is well situated, and it took me about 20 minutes to walk to the university, and it is also close to the Canterbury West Station. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

David and Sandra are excellent hosts and there is a high degree of detail in everything that they do. The location is fantastic , in easy walking distance of the old town. The room size is typical of a B & B , not overly big , but very comfortable and the bed was a good size . All of the linen was great quality as was the choice and range of breakfast. Car parking was available at the back of the house . All in all a great experience and we would definitely recommend and would stay again if we get back to Canterbury. Thanks David and Sandra for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basildon essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

me and my husband had an overnight stay here around may bank holiday weekend.......the host was very welcoming and as it was our 1st trip to canterbury gave us a map and loads of useful information on the area she showed us to our room which was nice clean and airy, the only issue we encountered was the shower it was on a mixer tap system and had not water pressure more of a dribble so we managed without for one night but if we would of stayed two it might have been more of an issue.....i would definately recommend this hotel for overall value and excellent location for walking distance to shops and the attractions and the full excellent breakfast was of good standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

You cant see the house clearly from the road but the entrance is on the side off market way there are enough parking spaces. we stayed in rooms 2 & 3 both were very clean a bit on the small side but who needs an enormous room.comfortable double bed, modern furnishings, hairdyer, free wi-fi
selection of tea & coffee & biscuits. Large bathroom with bath & shower over, Toiletries supplied, this was cleaned daily and the bed was made daily. plenty of towels. (We would have liked to have stayed in the older part of the house but it was booked) Lots of choice for breakfast and the full English was very nice and big, plenty of toast and spreads, tea or coffee. The owners are very nice warm and welcoming. paper shop across the road for morning papers. very easy to walk into town takes about 15 minutes either by street or the riverwalk we will definitely stay here again when we visit canterbury

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here whilst daughter was competing in a competition. After speaking with the other parents, we had the better deal. The room as very nice, tidy and clean. We had asked for an early breakfast, this was no problem. A shame we couldn't stay longer. We had the misfortune of leaving an item behind. This has very kindly been sent to me. Can't ask for anything more. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#6 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stephens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stephens Guest House

Property: St Stephens Guest House
Address: 100 St. Stephens Road, Canterbury CT2 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stephens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Stephens Guest House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing