We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing Weekend Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Stephens Guest House
Ranked #18 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a most enjoyable weekend stay at St Stephens. Our clean bedroom had everything we were expecting and the wi-fi was very reliable. The breakfast was very good and David was able to give us advice on what to do when in Canterbury. The guest house is very conveniently located, with us leaving our car at the guest house and walking into the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great stay at St Stephens. The guest house is lovely. Our room was extremely clean and nicely set out. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was generous and very tasty. David and Sandra are very kind and welcoming. The guest house is in a great location, it is a short walk along the river to the city centre. Mum walks with a stick but she got round the guest house easily and the walk to the city centre was not to much for her. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were very impressed by this guesthouse during our two night stay. We shared two interconnecting rooms with our teens - rooms were clean and airy. Wifi strength was excellent. Areas are freshly painted and fire escape plan clearly laid out.
Hosts David and Sandra are doing an excellent job. They are warm, friendly and humorous! Also provided information on where to eat/visit.
The cooked breakfasts were sensational!
The carpark is tight but workable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We have been regular guests at St Stephen's for some 15 years. The current owners, David and Sandra are attentive hosts, who have spent a lot of effort and money on refurbishing the bedrooms. We had a comfortable stay, and the rooms, whilst not capacious, were fine for us. The ensuite was a shower, again fine for us.
A good courtesy tray, including tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits!

There is some noise from the adjacent road, but it didn't really bother us.

David & Sandra provided soya milk for breakfast upon request, and delicious veggie sausages. A good selection of fruits, yoghurts and juices. The breakfast will set you up for the day ahead!

Finally, the location is superb, only a ten minute walk into the centre of Canterbury. The guest house has its' own car park, another bonus.

The rates are not unreasonable for Canterbury.

St Stephen's is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adambroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramhaining, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to see you and your family again and we are glad you liked our newly refurbished rooms. Some of our en-suite bathrooms have also baths with showers above.

We're very happy to cater for special dietary requirements for breakfast on request and are glad that you enjoyed the veggie sausages.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the car park is very tight to get in and out of so be careful with that. But upon entrance we were welcomed by the owners who were very friendly and welcoming, who told us about the house and other information we needed. The house is situated about 10-15 from Canterbury centre which was a very easy walk.

We stayed in a double bedroom with an en-suite which was decorated lovely and modern and was very clean. The room included towels, hair dryer, alarm clock and also had complementary hot chocolate, coffee and biscuits which was a nice touch after travelling. Also in the room was an information book about Canterbury so if your new to the city its very useful to read as it includes many numbers for taxis etc. We are both 6ft and found the bed a little small, our feet hung out the bed. The street our room was looking out on was fairly busy which meant it was noisy, however this didn't affect us a great deal as we wasn't in the room 24/7 and this is nothing the house can sort out, but these were our only problems.
The next morning we went down for a lovely fried breakfast, the owner asked us what we would like for our breakfast which was very nice, and there were juices, fruit and cereal to help ourselves to while having breakfast.

Overall we both had a lovely stay and felt welcomed and cared for by the owners. I would return to this hotel as I thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8427Abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandramhaining, Owner at St Stephens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry you found it difficult to get in and out of the car park, it was one of the rare occasions when the car park was very busy.

We are glad that you liked your bedroom, and found the amenities provided useful. The double bedrooms have all standard size double beds.

There is a road at the side of the building but we are not directly on it as there are other buildings and gardens between the road and us. All the rooms on that side have double glazing. However, with the recent hot weather it is difficult in a city to have the windows open without hearing some noise. The road is busy during the day but quietens down during the late evening and night.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Arrived in Canterbury for one night stay by car from Stansetd airport and was very easy to find with Tomtom. We had a twin and a double room for family with interconnecting door with two independent bathrooms. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Ideally located from city centre (10 minutes) and very close to the University of Kent, which we had to visit. Breakfast was great with friendly hosts David and Sandra. Best value for money for a family, we will definetly stay there again if we go to Canterbury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor seem to be quieter and if you are a family remember to ask for the family r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LusakaBomanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed in Canterbury for two nights whilst attending a conference in May. David and Sandra excellent hosts. Room was very nice, at front of house and road outside but noise was not a problem. Room very nice, good linen and accessories. Great breakfast. All within walking distance of the city. I will stay again if in Canterbury and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluekate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#1 of 73 in Canterbury
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harriet House B&B
Harriet House B&B
#3 of 73 in Canterbury
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#8 of 73 in Canterbury
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 73 in Canterbury
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stephens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stephens Guest House

Address: 100 St. Stephens Road, Canterbury CT2 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stephens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Stephens Guest House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing