We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly well-located pub with rooms”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Friendly well-located pub with rooms”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We enjoyed our night at this pleasant pub in a quiet but beautiful spot. For a small place, breakfast was very good although we could have done better for our evening meal. The room was clean and spacious (a bit dated but not unpleasantly so) with a good selection of hot drinks and toiletries. Car parking two minutes away and a not unreasonable five pounds with a 24-hour ticket from the bar.

In conclusion, three reasons to stay here:
1) It's a five-minute walk to the wonderful centre of Canterbury
2) They provide a good welcome and are very committed to their customers
3) At discount rate it's excellent value

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    192
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
81
249
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our second stay at the Miller's and was again an enjoyable experience. Great location and lovely outlook over the weir from most of the rooms. A few minutes walk from the city centre and Cathedral with several different routes to take, each of which provides many things of interest, be it the architecture, the quaint shops and eateries or the historical markers that greet you at practically every turn. Shopping is great and you are never more than a few steps from a coffee shop or restaurant. Parking is easy at the car park opposite and very reasonable with the 24 hour voucher you can purchase from the hotel. Breakfast is varied and good value.

The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is second to none (especially Angela and the young blonde lady who was on breakfast duty during our stay, but whose name we didn't get), and whilst the housekeeping was a little haphazard on this visit, it was soon rectified and quite honestly, just added to the quirkiness of the accommodation.

Plenty of seaside places within easy reach so you need never be short of something to do. We hope to make at least two more visits this year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zinctop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Pros
Very central - So central that if you take the river tour they go right past the hotel and tell you about its history.
Great breakfast - It's a pub during the day and they clearly have someone in the kitchen who can cook.

Cons
Ouch, that mattress!

Top tip: they will sell you a voucher for the car park for £5 so don't buy a ticket from the machine.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seajay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Millers is a lovely old pub right in the heart of Canterbury just a five min walk to the Cathedral and town centre. Some rooms look at the Cathedral whilst others look over the weir and park opposite. I stayed here last weekend with friends on an old University reunion so we had a blast. The pub doesn't seem to attract a student crowd anymore but offers good food at night and fabulous morning breakfasts which filled us up all day

All the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. I tend to stay in posh hotels so I'm hard to please, and the rooms are dated here but clean and functional. For the price and location and friendly welcome you couldn't get better. he one 'posh' hotel here, Abode, doesn't live up to much, and our stay at the Pilgrims hotel last year was dreadful. We'd highly recommend the Millers

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Nice inn near the center of Canterbury
Parking: there is no private parking but you can have a voucher in the Inn for a public parking opposite the street
Bedroom: old mattress and carpet but very nice bathroom
Breakfast: good with a lot of choice

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_and_L_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is an unpretentious pub with rooms in the centre of Canterbury. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and the view we had of the cathedral was marvellous. The rooms are clean and reasonably welll appointed and good value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and served in a spacious, bright room. Parking is very easy, by £5 voucher in a park across the road
Overall, a very pleasant overnight stay

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Millers Arms a second time recently. We forgot to review for a previous stay in November, 2008; but all of the comments for this most recent stay are applicable for the earlier one. The Millers Arms is an excellent choice for a visit t to Canterbury. Canterbury Cathedral, St. Augustine's Abbey, the castle ruins and the town center are all within an enjoyable 15 minute stroll (stroll, not walk). The inn does serve food - primarily pub grub that is tasty and filling. The choice of ales and beers is good and the pub itself is cozy and friendly. As far as pubs go, it caters more toward an older crowd and is not a venue for younger pub goers. If this is what you seek, then you will find it within a few minutes' walk. Diners who want a more upscale experience - in terms of offerings and sophistication, will find many restaurants and bistros nearby. Moreover, a very large Sainsbury grocery store is located within a five minute walk for those who prefer to pick up various snacks and sundries for a lighter meal. The park right out front is a wonderfully place to enjoy the snacks and a bottle of wine, beside the fishing weir. The Millers Arms has met and exceeded our expectations twice. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paleo1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing