We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but only basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice location but only basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you’re visiting Canterbury then this hotel is ok for location and staffs was very friendly. We were very disappointed with the room which was very basically furnished and the toilet bowl was badly cracked but the view of the cathedral was wonderful. Food was very tasty but although a specials board was displayed, when we asked about it, we were told nothing on it was available and it was removed. The receptionist for the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful and looked after our case whilst we explored Canterbury.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronborrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    186
    26
    16
    8
See reviews for
78
232
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Too bad I didn't read SuzymoDo's review before we booked (although we must have been there the week after she was) because we had a similar experience and in the same room, The Knight's Tale. In addition to the dingy room, we also found the roach trap (mouse trap?) behind the sink but the hooker was the fact that the toilet didn't flush. Unfortunately, we checked in on Saturday at 1830 and first flushed the toilet at 2030. We called the desk and were told that the hotel had had "some problems with the toilet" but a plumber was supposed to have fixed it, and that the barmen didn't know anything about toilets so we would have to wait for the cook to finish cooking and he would have a look at it. When we decided to leave at that point, a manager came from the hospital where his wife was having a baby but he wasn't a plumber either so that was that. On the good side, the mattress problem that SuzymoDo had was solved by replacing the mattress with a new one but unfortunately there was no mattress pad on it. The staff agreed to waive our "no cancel" charge and did help us find another hotel an hour's drive in the middle of the night so, yes, they are friendly but the real solution to the problem at the Millers Arms is to close it up, fix it up, get rid of the mice or roaches, get the toilets working, then open it to paying guests, and not the other way around. Basically, we missed seeing Canterbury altogether because of this experience and we came a long way to do just that. Finally, in terms of "value", forget it! They were relatively inexpensive at 75 GBP for B & B, but we found a nice hotel in London and several other B&Bs in Southwest England on our three-week trip that were in the same price range and a whole lot nicer. And the toilets even worked!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChiT0wn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here with my fiance while we were in Canterbury for a friend''s wedding and had a very enjoyable stay. We had a family ensuite room with a view of the cathedral which was nice. The room had tea and coffee-making facilities and was comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast truly was delicious! We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Lover_2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Friendly staff, traditional pub food. My room was nothing to write home about, but it was perfectly acceptable, The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beurwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Our Room The Knights room was filthy! cobwebs everywhere, spiders nests, dirty stained carpets, filthy bath, Mattress completely sprung and painful,Cockroach traps!
Stayed 5 days and the room was not cleaned all the time we were there, Just the bed got made. Other than that the Pub part is lovely and the staff could not be nicer also good food if you like staying in filth... stay here! Also no WiFi but it is advertised.

Room Tip: dont stay in the Knights room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzymoDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Very happy with the choice we made. The room was clean and nice. There were a few issues, but they didn't really bother us too much. Hot tap water was boiling instantly, so we nearly burnt ourselves! The mattresses need replacing, as the springs had been worn down in some places. My girlfriend doesn't like staying in hotels at all, but she enjoyed staying here. But the best thing was the staff...they were really helpful. I had bought along some home-made cooking for my girlfriend, and we wanted it warmed. We were nervous about asking them as some hotels don't like this at all, especially those, like this one, which have their own restaurant etc. We would have been grateful if they'd just warmed the food inside the container as it was. But they took the plastic container away, emptied the contents into a large plate, and warmed the food. And to top top it off, they even washed the plastic container. Wow, what a service. Breakfest was the best I've had anywhere. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSandASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We enjoyed our night at this pleasant pub in a quiet but beautiful spot. For a small place, breakfast was very good although we could have done better for our evening meal. The room was clean and spacious (a bit dated but not unpleasantly so) with a good selection of hot drinks and toiletries. Car parking two minutes away and a not unreasonable five pounds with a 24-hour ticket from the bar.

In conclusion, three reasons to stay here:
1) It's a five-minute walk to the wonderful centre of Canterbury
2) They provide a good welcome and are very committed to their customers
3) At discount rate it's excellent value

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing