We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the room with the four poster bed, very comfortable, great view overlooking river. Hotel is in a prime location would recommend this room the whirl pool bath is nice. Staff accommodating, breakfast amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    187
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
81
234
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great location, we walked with suitcases from the bus station, easy to find once we called into the Information Place and got a map. Lovely room with a view of the cathedral, and a nice breakfast in the dining room. Does nice meals in the evening too.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view room...they don't cost any more!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Friendly staff and a very convenient location, just a short walk into the centre. Park in the car park opposite and get a 24hour ticket for £5 from the hotel. Room was very clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and generous portions. We stayed here on our way back from a trip to France. It was very good value and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to Canterbury and now always choose to stay here. A fantastic location, nice, comfortable rooms with everything you could need, and to top it off a delicious breakfast! It's excellent value and the staff are on the whole, pretty great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychic_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband chose this hotel for our first night away from our children. From the moment we arrived we was welcomed warmly and felt comfortable. Shown our room and then went down the stairs for some lunch which was lovely.
After a night out we returned to have some drinks in front of the wood burning fire which was delightful.
The cooked breakfast the next day was lovely and definitely topped off the trip.
Was a lovely little pub and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I can not praise The Miller's Arms enough. Very comfortable room at a good price, very convenient location to all to sights, Great breakfast with lots of choice, and a cozy pub as well where we finished off our nights with a lovely glass of wine by a nice fire. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Spent 4 nights there and really felt at home. If am back in that area I would 100% book again! Thank you all :)

Room Tip: Enjoy the Pub Quiz
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Millers Arms for four nights on a nostalgia trip to Canterbury at the end of January. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by friendly staff, and continued to receive excellent service throughout.

The Pub/hotel is owned by Shepherd Neame, the bar/restaurant areas having recently been decorated and furnished in modern style, giving a pleasant ambience. It is positioned about five minutes walk from the city centre, hence very conveniently located. Unlike some other reviewers, we were not unduly disturbed by noise, either from within or from passing students etc. although, in the cold weather, this may be due in part to our having kept the windows firmly shut.

Our room ("The Knight's Tale") was fairly compact, with very traditional furniture, but clean and well-presented. The bathroom was clean but in need of some TLC, and the shower was useless. Friendly Manager Paul advised he had agreed a programme of room refurbishment with the owners although implementation (due to have commenced early 2013) had been delayed.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of menu, prepared to order and served freshly cooked. Again, the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, and looked after us really well - Rosie deserves a special mention, also Paul himself on Rosie's day off.

There is no on-site parking available, but ample and seemingly safe car parking is available across the road (make sure you buy £5 vouchers for 24 hours parking from the hotel, otherwise it's £1.10/hour Pay and Display). Canterbury West station is a few minutes walk away, hence convenient for those arriving by train.

Assuming the shortcomings are remedied, we would strongly recommend this hotel, and look forward to a return visit, especially after the promised room refurbishment has been completed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing