We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and location - hospitality could be better”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #5 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I really like the location and the atmosphere of this little inn, where me and my wife have stayed before. We stayed a few months ago and we were treated excellently by a young gentlemen who worked there but he was no where to be seen this time around. Once we had checked in (after what we assume was the manager had finished looking at his screen for two minutes!) and been taken upstairs we left our bags in the room (very nice and tidy) and explored the city. We returned in the evening for some dinner and it seemed as if they were a little short staffed. I noticed that the young workers seemed to be doing it all whilst the woman with short blonde hair (the managers wife apparently) just played with her phone. The food took a little while to come out but it was delicious so we were relatively happy with the dining experience. Breakfast v good also.

Having read other reviews and experienced it a couple of times myself, I would say that the Millers Arms has a good thing going on, perhaps they know it and have really taken their foot off the pedal. It appeared that way to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived on bicycles, dripping wet and muddy but the reception staff were not at all put out; they showed us immediately to a secure bicycle store and then to our lovely room overlooking the river. The facilities in our room were very good and we had an evening meal in the bar which was tasty. The breakfast the following morning was extremely good and we were helped out on departure by the manager, who was very kind. All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. All in all, this venue is highly recommended and represents exceedingly good value for money compared to other places we stayed at during our mini-break in Kent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here when we came to Canterbury. The room was great, walking distance to everything and the breakfast was amazing!

Just make sure you get your parking pass from them rather than buying one in the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is an old historic pub 1826. The rooms have been refurbished and were very comfortable. We booked a room with a private bathroom and didn't know exactly what to expect. To our surprise and delight it was an ensuite, quite spacious with shower over kidney shaped bath. The room had nice wooden country cottage style furnishings, dressing table, with the furniture it was a bit cramped for two people, but workable. The only downside was that due to the age of the building, creaky floorboards from passers by in the hall and some noise from patrons using the outside tables and others in the street, it settled down when the pub shuts and we both slept well both nights. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices for your hot breakfast as well as the continental. Our favorite was the local haddock, fantastic! Porridge was also exceptionally good. Meals are available all day in the pub, but we tended to have our other meals in the wide variety of other options nearby. The hotel is in an excellent location alongside the river, not far from the West gate. It is an easy 7-10 min walk to the Canterbury West railway station, the cathedral and the Marlowe Theatre, also very well situated for shopping and eating short distance to the high street. Highly recommend this Hotel particularly when comparing to other much more expensive options within the city walls. Staff were all helpful.

One word of caution if you are using google maps for directions. There are two Mill Lanes in Canterbury but the correct one for the hotel doesn't come up. To make matters worse a restaurant called the Millers Arms appears on google maps adjacent to the WRONG Mill lane. The Mill Lane you want is on the corner of Pound Lane.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our first taste of wonderful English Hospitality. Traveling with my 75 yr old mother & daughter Millers Arms was our first night in UK after spending a month in Europe with Heavy bags where not once had any one offered to help my elderly mother with her bag. On arrival the pleasnt young man on the desk offered to carry all not just one ,but all our luggage up 3 flight of stairs. There are no lifts, but not a problem with good staff. Hallways were narrow & tired but our room was lovely and spacious, with real windows you could open to get fresh air and see the spires of the Cathedral. The room had a lovely homely feeling very authentic English Character, not a non descript chain motel. Breakfast was also very good with a heartly selection of hot & cold. Paul the manager was so helpful the next day we had checked out & left our bags at reception to explore the city, before a late train out. The weather suddenly turned cold, he very kindly let us get changed into warmer cloths in one of the rooms, then even sat and had a coffee with us and a good chat while we waited for a taxi. For the first time on our travels we felt like a valued guest. Great Location walking distance from Cathedral , restaurant and shops. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Millers Arms is a quaint hotel in a good location. From the hotel, it's about a 5 minute walk to the main part of town and cathedral. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When arriving in Canterbury, we got turned around and the gentleman at the desk literally talked us to the hotel on the phone. We stayed in the Squires Tale. The room and bathroom were clean and adequate considering it is a very old hotel retrofitted to modern standards, but could have used a through dusting under the large pieces of furniture. The included breakfast was nice. Parking, through the hotel, was ₤6 a night in the public parking lot directly across the street. The hotel is in need of some minor maintenance, such as painting the flaking paint on the windows, but for the most part the hotel seemed to be in good repair. Not that anybody was about to climb onto the hotel's roof, but the room's window didn't lock. There were a few spiders I had to deal with and I've got no idea where they came from. Our biggest complaint was that when the window was open, all the cooking odors from the kitchen entered the room, so we had to keep it closed. If reserving a room, ask for a room on the front side of the hotel. There is free WiFi that works best in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Last november I did for two days in Canterbury to visit the city and I ibooked this B&B that it's a pub as well!

The location is perfect because you can arrive in just 5 minutes to the main street!

The room was big and very celan: the only problem has been that the shower didn't work when we tried to use it( there wasn't hot water) so the manager sent us in an other room to have the shower. The next morinig it worked.

Breakfast has been very good: you can choose the English or the european one!

Very good place to go!Reccomanded!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,201 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing