We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the delightful surprise of an upgrade to the 4-poster King suite and it was fabulous - wonderful atmosphere, lots of room and so comfortable we didn't want to leave. We come to Canterbury almost every year and this is our favorite accommodation. The staff is super-friendly and the food very good - 5 star breakfast. I can't think of any negatives - we will definitely be returning to this cozy, comfortable pub.

Room Tip: We loved the 4 poster King suite. Our friends' room was smaller but had a lovely view of the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank P-love22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    190
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
81
243
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Comfortable rooms, nice bar with good beer, and an excellent breakfast all within an easy walk to the town centre - and especially convenient for The Marlow. Pay parking over the road - with discount vouchers available from the pub. I will certainly stay there again next time I am in Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location and friendly staff. The room was big, clean and comfy as was the bathroom. Busy bar area that serves food and has a selection of beers. Will stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Millers Arms is an excellent choice of accommodation in Canterbury. It is a very quiet pub (so no need to worry about late night noise) that is centrally located and in easy reach of the town and historic attractions. We stayed here for three nights in December 2013 and we were impressed by the high standards at the Millers Arms. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff were most helpful and welcoming. Breakfast portions were extremely generous and the food was excellent quality. Thank you to all at the Millers Arms for a most enjoyable stay. We will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Five of us have just spent a very good weekend here. We normally stay in hotels but opted for a B & B and this one in particular as it was so close to the city centre, We could not fault our freshly decorated and comfortable rooms and every member of staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. They could not do too much for us. The location is lovely - our room overlooked the river walk and weir and although at the front of the building and just over the dining room/bar area, we were not bothered at all by noise and slept well. Although we had not booked for dinner on the Friday and the place was heaving with Christmas parties they found a table for us and we enjoyed a very nice meal. Well worth the money and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you get caught out like I did recently, without a room for one night prior to a conference then this pub might just provide a decent bed and breakfast for you too!
This is a typical English pub, run as part of a brand Shepherd-Neame, in Kent. I have stayed in the past at a partner pub in Lenham on more than one occasion so was not surprised at the warm welcome, comfortable room and event better bed and bathroom.
I booked through Expedia and got a good rate for B&B for a central city location.
Tea and coffee in room, excellent full English breakfast and that super bed.
I am also very pleased that most B&Bs these days provide proper fluffy bath sheets and not those nasty sandpaper tea-towels that pretended to be bath towels (in the past)!

Room Tip: some renovations currently going on so you should get a pretty fresh, renovated room anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuigiMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of November. They're obviously renovating the rooms, we had one that hadn't been done yet. As previous reviews have stated it was a bit tired but was very cosy and comfortable, with a great view of the cathedral from the window.

We had no hot water one evening for a couple of hours so they let us use a different one to shower - it was one of the rooms that had been decorated and looked quite smart (although not as cosy!).

Had dinner one night and it was decent pub food. Breakfast was excellent both mornings.

Location is amazing, just a 2 minute walk from the Cathedral / town centre. Handy parking opposite.

A few quirks in the service. When we arrived both girls serving claimed they didn't know where our room was! And one morning with breakfast they bought out 3 bits of toast between the 2 of us! (Not really a complaint, just a bit odd!). Staff were friendly though.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing